Pie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Quick and yummy. Using strawberry filling gives it a very PINK look! Missing from the instructions: Turn the cake out of the pan when it has cooled a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Super easy and good. I used strawberry pie filling and substituted vanilla for the cinnamon. I don't know how the person who submitted the photo cut it into wedges like that, because mine is so moist I don't see how it would hold that shape. Actually, more moist than I would prefer, but got so many rave reviews I will definitely make it again and will enjoy experimenting with different pie fillings. I like the reviewers ideas to spruce it up a bit, so that will be an ongoing adventure to add to it. I think a streusel top would be great, and adding some additional fresh fruit might also be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Loved the cake. Halved the recipe, as I didn't need that much cake, but didn't halve the pie filling, so it was more pie filling than cake. Still delicious and moist though. Used apple pie filling, which really worked with the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very interesting 'cake'. It was very quick and easy to put together. Very moist, pretty tasty. It would be good with a whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Pretty good, and extremely easy. A great use for my extra homemade pie filling. The pie filling I had was a berry mix and it worked well with this. I also tossed in an overripe banana bc I didn't want to make any banana bread or cake as well. I baked in a bundt pan bc I don't like to make sheet cakes (I'm weird, I know), and it needed about 55 min total to bake through completely. It was a good complement to a smoothie I had this morning. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is a grest recipe with some "tweaking"; hence the 4 star rating. Others reviewers have complained of blandness, so here ishow I boosted the flavor factor. I use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup melted butter (instead of oil) and 1 (6 ox) container of yogurt (same flavor as pie filling used), 1 1/2 cups freash fruit added to the pie filling. So for Blueberry Pied Cake I use blueberry yogurt and 1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries and I onit the cinnamon. For Cherry Pie Cake, cheery yogurt and fresh or frozen cherries and I omit the cinnamon and use almond extract instead of vanilla. Strawberry Pie Cake is delicious too! You get the idea. This is a very versatile recipe and that's why I like it! I get rave reviews every time I've served my version of Pie Cake. It's great for breakfast or dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
One of the keys to getting the best result with this recipe is to choose a really good quality canned pie filling since it is such a large part of the batter. I used a store brand blueberry flavor and the filling itself was rather bland (I tasted a little out of the can after I made the recipe). Maybe the extra fruit pie filling would be a better choice. Also blueberry makes an unappetizing color of batter, so I decided at the last minute to use a streusel topping to cover up the gray color. I would recommend using a topping and the optional nuts to make this cake more interesting. It came out a little too moist even baking it for a full 60 minutes. This was good, my teenager liked it, but not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This cake is great! Very easy to make. Had it for a group of senior citizens and they gave it a ratiing of 6. Will try apples next time with a streusel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I had to cook it longer so the middle of the cake was cooked. I did 20 minutes, then 8 more minutes with foil on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
It was okay but a little too bland for me. I added a struedel topping but that didn't really help it much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States