Pico de Gallo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gardengrl
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Excellent. Growing up in Central California, I was fortunate enough to eat authentic Mexican food on a regular basis. This is what Pico de Gallo should taste like. This recipe is easily adjusted to ones personal taste. Fresno or Serrano chilis can be used if Jalapenos are unavailable. If you can't handle 'HOT' food simply decrease the amount of jalapenos or use an Anaheim or Poblano chili instead. If you're a garlic lover as I am, use a few more cloves of garlic. If you've never handled fresh chilies before, be careful. You can easily spread the oils from your hands to your face. If you're sensitive, try gloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
In a word - delicious. If you like Mexican food, this is for you. I used to live in CA and boy do I miss the food there! This recipe is perfect, I didn't change a thing. I let it set for a few hours to let the flavors blend together and it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Really can't go wrong with this. I personally prefer yellow onion instead or red and I also doubled (at least) the cilantro. I got a lot of compliments on this and I think the cumin made the difference. I used fresh garlic instead of powder and used serrano chiles instead of jalapenos. Add this to avocados for the best guacamole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Someone mentioned that the serrano chili could be used instead of the jalapeno if they didn't want it very hot. The scoville scale of hottness for the jalapeno is 2,500-8,000. The serrano is 10,000-23,000. Be very carefull of the serrano, It's pretty hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Try this. You'll think you're in Mexico. Or at least your favorite Mexican restaurant. I could have eaten the whole bowl before it made it to the table for our fajitas, but I obviously had to restrain myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Marisa Nicholls
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I rated this 5 stars even though I didn't follow this recipe because I am sure its delicious. You really can't go wrong making Pico de Gallo its simple and flavorful even if you omit a few ingredients. I didn't use Roma tomatoes I find them to be a little too soggy for my taste so I used 1 large firm Beefsteak Tomato. I love Red Onion but I didn't have one on hand so I opted to use a little more than half of a large White Onion instead. I used as much Cilantro as I wanted because 3 tablespoons hardly seems enough. I like heat so I used a 1/2 of a Jalapeno, if you don't have a fresh pepper on hand just use the ones that come in a jar or can it will work fine. Do not omit the fresh garlic it adds to the flavor but the garlic powder isn't really necessary in my opinion and neither is the Cumin. Salt and Pepper to taste is definitely a must I used fresh cracked pepper. However you decide to prepare it you definitely need to add Lime Juice I used the juice of 2 little Limes, it really helps to bring out all the flavors and keep your Pico de Gallo fresh. I paired it with some Blue Corn Tortilla chips and the leftovers if there are any ha ha will go nicely atop of my butter herbed Tilapia fish Fillets for tomorrow's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa Nicholls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I made this today to go with carne asada tacos. It was really excellent. I used 3 med-large tomatoes and 1/2 regular white onions. I wasn't sure about the chili powder and garlic powder so I made both ways and it worked best with it. The spices are not overpowering like I thought they only improve on the fresh flavor. Easy and great on tacos! Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
better than other recipes i've tried on this site. The fresh garlic and lime juice make ALL the difference in the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Just like we had in Mexico! The fresh lime makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Some really liked this, but I wasn't so keen on it. It was missing a lot. I would juice the whole lime and increase the cilantro, adjust the garlic to 2 or 3 whole fresh cloves (leave out the granulated) and add the whole jalapeno. There is no heat whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States