Pico de Gallo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Just like we had in Mexico! The fresh lime makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
better than other recipes i've tried on this site. The fresh garlic and lime juice make ALL the difference in the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
YUM! This is EXACTLY they way I like my pico. FRESH is best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Fabulous! I did add more fresh garlic and cilantro than original recipe- just personal taste. So fresh and delicious. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatPurrson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Ocean Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Really can't go wrong with this. I personally prefer yellow onion instead or red and I also doubled (at least) the cilantro. I got a lot of compliments on this and I think the cumin made the difference. I used fresh garlic instead of powder and used serrano chiles instead of jalapenos. Add this to avocados for the best guacamole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gardengrl
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Excellent. Growing up in Central California, I was fortunate enough to eat authentic Mexican food on a regular basis. This is what Pico de Gallo should taste like. This recipe is easily adjusted to ones personal taste. Fresno or Serrano chilis can be used if Jalapenos are unavailable. If you can't handle 'HOT' food simply decrease the amount of jalapenos or use an Anaheim or Poblano chili instead. If you're a garlic lover as I am, use a few more cloves of garlic. If you've never handled fresh chilies before, be careful. You can easily spread the oils from your hands to your face. If you're sensitive, try gloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I put too much cilantro in, I think I'd like it better without the cilantro. Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Perfectly balanced pico de gallo! I wouldn't change anything. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
The cumin does make this salsa unique, and very freshly flavors other ingredients. Due to limitations on hand, I did use yellow, not red, onion, omitted the garlic powder but used fresh, and did need to substitute cilantro with fresh Italian parsley. Lastly, I used fire-roasted tomatoes--again, because they were on hand. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Incredible! I did add a bit of green onions and a bit more cumin and garlic than suggested in the recipe, but the recipe as written would be excellent, too, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States