Pico De Gallo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This was good, but you forgot a lot of ingredients to make this great! First of all use LIME JUICE!!!! It really gives it that needed 'punch', I usually use a whole lime juiced. Also, I add some cubed up avocado, and usually I use fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. Add the lime juice for sure though and you won't believe the difference in this reicpe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
917 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Holy Hannah... After the changes I made, this is borderline perfection!!! I used two tomatoes (large dice), a half of a large red onion (really fine dice), one green onion (finely chopped), very little jalapeño, 3 sprigs cilantro, Low-Sodium salt, and some lime juice (didn't measure - just went to taste). I mixed it all in a colander, to drain juices. I might end up chawin' this all down before the Fiesta tomorrow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
677 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
The recipe is basic, it's not terrible, but you can add more to make it taste a lot better the authentic way. And I'm sorry but the picture you have up looks more like a mango salsa than pico de gallo... pico de gallo should be a little more wet than that and should have more cilantro & (fresh) garlic with some lime & maybe even avocado (tastes great!). I do add salt to taste but usually don't need pepper for salsa(yes pico de gallo is a type of salsa). You should always taste along the way as you're making it so that it fits your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
441 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Adriana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
Very good, but needed a little tweaking. First of all, 2 sprigs of cilantro is not NEARLY enough for my family. I used 2 tablespoons of cilantro, chopped in the food processor. I also only used about 1/4 of a white onion and 3 green onions, added the juice of 2 limes, and used 2 cloves of fresh garlic instead of powder. (This was for a double batch BTW.) That said, it was an awesome pico! Everyone loved it, even my 2-year-old. With the adjustments to make it more authentic, it's definitely a keeper. Thanks for the inspiration, Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
A very good recipe indeed. I would suggest adding fresh lime juice to taste. Also, word to the wise: When working with fresh jalepenos, always wear protective gloves if you don't want the juice in your skin for days! Especially if you wear contact lenses! OUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This is a good basic pico de gallo. However my family likes more cilantro flavor, so I used a half bunch and added fresh lime juice and minced garlic, rather than powder. Yummy with chips, tacos, or even mixed into bland chicken salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
To be fair, this recipe is not "bad", it is just missing lime juice (fresh!) and please use fresh garlic (1clove minced) for a great big difference. Otherwise it is a good point of direction for those looking to make pico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Excellent!! I added way too many peppers from my garden, but was making a HUGE batch, so I got a little crazy. This recipe is good right after mixing and FABULOUS after a few hours........but not so good after a day or two. It gets really watery. Make it in the afternoon for supper and ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
Very good! I will double the recipe next time...the cilantro is a MUST... whatever you do don't leave it out. If you don't have this ingredient go to the store and get it because it is what gives pico de gallo a unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
My family loves this recipe. You can put pico de gallo on anything and make it tast wonderful. We make it now instead of salsa. It doesn't fall off the chip or squish out of a fajita like salsa does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States