Pico De Gallo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Very basic recipe. Needed more liquid. After making it and after reading other reviews the second time I made this I added a little lime juice and a dash of hot sauce. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklinville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
this is what I use to make a mesquite smoked red sauce. Because I am too lazy to dice I set the ingredients, coarsely diced onto the top shelf of my smoker while making the rest of dinner. when all else is done I scrape the ingedients into a blender with a little pinch each of lime and lemon zest and a splash of their juice = perfect sauce every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Thank you SO MUCH Grneyedmustang for giving us SUCH a great BASIC recipe for all of us to learn our own proportions. This is a wonderful, BASIC recipe. Typically almost all Pico de Gallo recipes have fresh lime juice in them (to taste), as well as garlic. Pico de Gallo means "fresh", I think, (but I'm 50 years dated since High School Spanish . Therefore "Pico" should be made with fresh garlic cloves, (unless no choice), fresh "instead of canned" tomatoes, fresh sqeezed lime juice instead of bottled lime juice. Now, the best part. Use this to top SALADS, virtually calorie LOW! EGGS, ANY Mexican or South American cuisine, (duh!), cooked SHRIMP, TACOS, VEGETABLES, FISH, guacomole, you NAME it! Tust me, you,ll LOVE it. Hope this gets you going, cause you may want to make up a BIG base recipe, (without tomatoes, like I do a day before Cinco De Mayo) and add the tomatoe's about two or three hours before you want to serve the "salsa". Then leave the rest of your base in the refrigerator for another few days adding tomatoes until its gone (sniff!)... Mine lasts (sans tomatoes) about 3 to 5 days. HTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Yummy yummy yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I made this recipe just as listed and it was good!! jalapeños in the pic gave my meal a nice spicy kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Very good. Added a little extra cilantro (I can't get enough). Awesome and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Absolutely delicious just the way the recipe is written. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
so easy and tastes better than what we got at Mexican restaurant last week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This is a pretty good basic recipe. I would add some bell pepper and leave out the green onions. Also for those of you who think it's too watery, I always chop my ingredients, especially the tomatoes, into a collender to drain off the excess liquid. Fresh lime juice is definitely a must. Also fresh garlic. A dash of olive oil also adds a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States