Pico De Gallo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This is a great starter recipe for pico de gallo! Thank you so much. As I make it more and more often, I will be able to define more specific quantities as I define my preference of taste. Thank you for a wonderful recipe here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I used Anaheims (for flavor) and Cerrano (for heat if desired) peppers instead of Jalapenos. I prefer to use Roma tomatoes for this because I like the flavor and they're usually less watery than traditional vine tomatoes and lead to less juice but more solid and flavorful chunks. They're less acidic so they probably won't keep as long as other tomatoes, but the addition of lime juice to the recipe sort of makes up for that and the lack of juice from the tomato switch, for the most part. As far as fresh versus bottled lime juice goes. To the average palate it won't make much of a difference and in making large batches or canning I'd say bottled is superior because it's typically pasteurized and that means fewer live microorganisms going into your cans, also it's less work than squeezing your own. But for small batches I'd go with fresh limes because it's more cost effective. One final thought is that I use white onions for applications like this because they have a more crisp gardeny flavor than yellow or reds that compliment the tomatoes well...but that's all just my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This is a great BASIC recipe, as she said. That means tweak it to your taste. Personally, I used Serrano peppers,lime juice, diced garlic and fresh parsley because my husband is allergic to cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Vanderslice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Thank you! I had a recipe like this & lost it & have not been able to find a good BASIC recipe just like this!! Of course I will add my own ingredients that my family likes - but this is a great BASIC recipe, just like you said!! Thank you Thank you!!! Sometimes we need to learn to appreciate simplicity!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Very boring! Nothing like authentic pico de gallo. I agree...you forgot the basic ingredient to pull it together...lime juice. Not nearly enough cilantro. It is really not even basic. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Very nice, yet I didn't have fresh jalapenos', so I substituted Mango Habanero 'salt' and a the juice of half of one large seedless lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Ok. Too spicy for the kids. Needs less jalapeno. Needs lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This is so delicious and I have all the fresh herbs to go in this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
GOOD RECIPE BUT....YES LIME JUICE AND I ADD WATER TO MAKE IT JUICY. WHEN COMBINED THE LIQUID TAKES ON THE TASTE OF EVERYTHING IN THE BOWL! IF SOMEONE DOES NOT LIKE THE VEGGIES THEY CAN JUST USE THE LIQUID!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Good basic recipe. Get creative and add some of your own favorite flavors. I mixed all ingredients, put in a bowl then sprinkled sun dried tomato feta on top. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States