Picnic Potato Salad with No Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I used this recipe for a family reunion, and it was a great selection for a hot day. The only changes I made (I know, I can't stand it when people make changes the first time they make the recipe, but I did it.) I substituted feta cheese in place of the blue cheese just because we prefer the feta, and I added bacon. I followed the directions and folded the cheese into the rest of the ingredients just before serving. However, I should have just added it all prior to taking it. The potato salad was still fine the next day. It held up well, and the feta was not a problem in terms of breaking down. It's always easier to prepare the entire dish a few hours before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
very interesting, different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Really wanted to like it but the use of balsamic vinegar and the "insult" of no mayo was too much for my family's taste buds. I tried it because it sounded interesting but it just didn't do it for us. I tried to salvage it by adding mayo and some of our usual ingredients which made it just barely edible. I may try it again in a small batch just to give it another chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
LOVED this recipe!! It was a hit with everyone who tried it! Definitely a keeper :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Great salad. I have been enjoying a variation of same potato salad recipe for many years courtesy of my German Mother-in law and now my wife makes it. We make it frequently. Differences are small and optional. Mother-in law would coarsely chop several dill pickles to add along with a good dose of the dill pickle juice. Lots of coarse ground black pepper. She used cider vinegar, I've used balsamic, love both. We also will eat it hot. Makes great sandwiches using fresh hard rolls. Shredded hard boiled eggs or pickled eggs are a must. Make a day ahead and refrigerate for better flavor. My wife was raised on this, it's great! A little touch of fresh ground horseradish is a great option also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Whitehall, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Delicious. Several of my guests asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I enjoyed the flavors in this, but it seemed kind of boring. Feels like it needed more ingredients. I used feta instead of blue cheese and that was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Very good. I used white balsamic to improve the presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Flavors were nice, but balsamic vinegar turned the potatoes a very unappetizing color. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This is my go-to potato salad for some years now, as we are not so keen on mayo based dressings.We love it and it's a hit wherever I have taken it up to now! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States