Picnic Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I wish they had ten stars! Fantastic fried chicken. I’m from the North and live in the South. I never learned the nuances of great Southern fried chicken that you can get everywhere around here. I have been on a quest for the perfect recipe for many years. This is it!! Many recipes sound similar to this one but the ratio of lots of milk to not too much egg or the shaking bag does the trick. Don’t know what it is but the flour really sticks (always a problem that is often corrected by messy double dipping) and gets nice and crispy. I did change 3 things. I only used ½ a recipe—1 cut up chicken (but used a whole egg) , I added some Paprika to the flour (because many recipes use it) and I fried it in my deep fryer appliance instead of the Dutch oven. I fried larger pieces longer and smaller pieces less. Double dipping was not necessary, plenty of crust. Don’t forget to salt after cooking as it says. That seems to be one of the secrets too. I have to remark that it came out really classically golden and pretty like from a restaurant. Delicious leftover!! Thanks Southern Living.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
Yummmmm. Delicious! I am from Maryland, so of course had to add Old Bay Seasoning (about 1 TBSP.) and it is wonderful! Going to Linganore Vineyards tomorrow and am bringing this along with Potato Salad and some wonderful cream pies from Southern Living.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Great fried chicken. Did "double-dip" in milk/egg and flour mixture to give a thicker coating. Don't have a Dutch oven so used electric fry pan. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
You will simply love this, trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I used this recipe for chicken strips and my wife and son LOVED it. It was very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
My family loves this recipe. I made it one day just to try a new recipe and ever since I did they are always asking for me to make it. I have tried other recipes but this one is the best that I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
A good recipe that you could certainly play around with to make it your own. Before I started the recipe I marinaded my chicken in buttermilk and hot sauce for several hours. I then seasoned with poultry seasonings, skipped the milk and just used eggs, added paprika to the flour and fried in my cast iron dutch oven. Didn't see the need to add more salt. The chicken came out nice and crispy and very moist. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
My boyfriend loved this recipe, and he is so picky. He doesn't eat half the things I make, but he ate all of it and even asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This is a wonderful recipie. I did as others suggested with the buttermilk and paprika and lowering the salt, but I also had to make a seperate batch for my dad. For those of you on a LOW CARB DIET, instead of flour use 1 part crush porkrines and 1 part soy flour. My family enjoyed the pork rines more than the flour and next time we will use spicy pork rines!! But the original is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrystleHanes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I didn't think I could make good fried chicken, but my boyfriend asked for some and I used this recipe. Ooooh, good! The coating was thick, crunchy, tasty...my mouth waters thinking of it. This will be my permanent fried chicken recipe. (Note: I did do some double-dipping for extra thick coating.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States