Picnic Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
Yummmmm. Delicious! I am from Maryland, so of course had to add Old Bay Seasoning (about 1 TBSP.) and it is wonderful! Going to Linganore Vineyards tomorrow and am bringing this along with Potato Salad and some wonderful cream pies from Southern Living.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Great fried chicken. Did "double-dip" in milk/egg and flour mixture to give a thicker coating. Don't have a Dutch oven so used electric fry pan. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
You will simply love this, trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
My family loves this recipe. I made it one day just to try a new recipe and ever since I did they are always asking for me to make it. I have tried other recipes but this one is the best that I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I used this recipe for chicken strips and my wife and son LOVED it. It was very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I wish they had ten stars! Fantastic fried chicken. I’m from the North and live in the South. I never learned the nuances of great Southern fried chicken that you can get everywhere around here. I have been on a quest for the perfect recipe for many years. This is it!! Many recipes sound similar to this one but the ratio of lots of milk to not too much egg or the shaking bag does the trick. Don’t know what it is but the flour really sticks (always a problem that is often corrected by messy double dipping) and gets nice and crispy. I did change 3 things. I only used ½ a recipe—1 cut up chicken (but used a whole egg) , I added some Paprika to the flour (because many recipes use it) and I fried it in my deep fryer appliance instead of the Dutch oven. I fried larger pieces longer and smaller pieces less. Double dipping was not necessary, plenty of crust. Don’t forget to salt after cooking as it says. That seems to be one of the secrets too. I have to remark that it came out really classically golden and pretty like from a restaurant. Delicious leftover!! Thanks Southern Living.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
I used chicken tenders with that grizzly piece removed out of the middle. I cooked them for 5 minutes in a deep fryer. These are a hit! I am always looking for a great fried chicken recipe, and this qualifies hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
My boyfriend loved this recipe, and he is so picky. He doesn't eat half the things I make, but he ate all of it and even asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
I'm no good at frying chicken, but this recipe was error-proof. I loved the way the chicken came out & its very very good served at room temperature - I think the previous reviewer was right, its something about the combo of frying in crisco and salting while the chicken's still warm. I also added paprika to the flour mixture - every respectable southerner should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahFriedman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Quick and tasty. A little too salty for our tastes so have cut down on the salt quantity (Just a little). This is now a firm family favourite - thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States