Picnic Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
We really liked this recipe but I felt it needed more flavor in the breading so I added McCormicks Chicken Seasonings. Came out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Wow! This chicken turned out perfect. I have tried to make fried chicken before without any real success. This recipe was easy and everyone ate it up. I did change one thing though, I used buttermilk instead of the regular. I also added Paprika as someone else suggested. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BPEREZBMW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
GREAT RECIPE! I make this all the time now. I used chicken tender strips, and they turned out great (about 1/2 the cooking time.) I would cut the "sprinkling" salt down to 1/2 tsp, and I used buttermilk. I never thought fried chicken could be soo easy. I SWEAR WHEN I DIE MY HUSBAND WILL STILL BE RAVING ABOUT MY FRIED CHICKEN THANKS TO THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I used this recipe and it turned out great. I am gluten intolerant so I substituted the flour for a combo of Rice flour, potato starch, and tapioca flour (6,2,1 ratio) and it still came out great. I also used it on some onions and made some tasty onion rings. It had been a while since I had been able to have fried foods due to my food sensitivity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I didn't think I could make good fried chicken, but my boyfriend asked for some and I used this recipe. Ooooh, good! The coating was thick, crunchy, tasty...my mouth waters thinking of it. This will be my permanent fried chicken recipe. (Note: I did do some double-dipping for extra thick coating.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Quick and tasty. A little too salty for our tastes so have cut down on the salt quantity (Just a little). This is now a firm family favourite - thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Parker
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
I'm no good at frying chicken, but this recipe was error-proof. I loved the way the chicken came out & its very very good served at room temperature - I think the previous reviewer was right, its something about the combo of frying in crisco and salting while the chicken's still warm. I also added paprika to the flour mixture - every respectable southerner should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahFriedman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
My boyfriend loved this recipe, and he is so picky. He doesn't eat half the things I make, but he ate all of it and even asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
I used chicken tenders with that grizzly piece removed out of the middle. I cooked them for 5 minutes in a deep fryer. These are a hit! I am always looking for a great fried chicken recipe, and this qualifies hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I wish they had ten stars! Fantastic fried chicken. I’m from the North and live in the South. I never learned the nuances of great Southern fried chicken that you can get everywhere around here. I have been on a quest for the perfect recipe for many years. This is it!! Many recipes sound similar to this one but the ratio of lots of milk to not too much egg or the shaking bag does the trick. Don’t know what it is but the flour really sticks (always a problem that is often corrected by messy double dipping) and gets nice and crispy. I did change 3 things. I only used ½ a recipe—1 cut up chicken (but used a whole egg) , I added some Paprika to the flour (because many recipes use it) and I fried it in my deep fryer appliance instead of the Dutch oven. I fried larger pieces longer and smaller pieces less. Double dipping was not necessary, plenty of crust. Don’t forget to salt after cooking as it says. That seems to be one of the secrets too. I have to remark that it came out really classically golden and pretty like from a restaurant. Delicious leftover!! Thanks Southern Living.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States