Picnic Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Excellent! I'm still leaning how to fry chicken properly. There's a fine line that I need to find between cooking the chicken thoroughly while keeping it from getting to dark (burnt!?) and retaining a golden brown appearance. I suppose I need to lower the heat after proper browing has been achieved and continue to lift the pieces of chicken so they don't adhere to the bottom of the skillet. It often seems that the browing is done before the inside of the chicken is done. Time will tell. The flavor of this chicken is exceptional and I will use it again, for sure. I did add paprika and cayenne pepper to the flour as recommended by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
A good recipe that you could certainly play around with to make it your own. Before I started the recipe I marinaded my chicken in buttermilk and hot sauce for several hours. I then seasoned with poultry seasonings, skipped the milk and just used eggs, added paprika to the flour and fried in my cast iron dutch oven. Didn't see the need to add more salt. The chicken came out nice and crispy and very moist. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
This is a great starting point to creating your own recipe for fried chicken. I add a little poultry seasoning, cayenne pepper, old bay, and paprika to mine to flour to get the flavor I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
overall this recipe is good, but i didnt really think the batter mix was thick enough on the chicken; the next time i make this recipe i will dip the chicken through the batter process twice to have a better coating. i also added about 2 tsp of paprika and cut the salt by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chupsie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This was delicious! The flavor was great. I did cook mine for about 12 min, cause after 10 it didn't look done. I will be making this again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
very quick, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
My husband could not stop bragging about them/. I did use buttermilk instead of regular milk, and added 1 1/2 teaspoons of paprika to the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
its the perfect fried chicken. i used this recipe on thigh pieces only and it still came out perfect. i din use shortening but canola oil and the end result was still delicious. try adding a little cumin or chilli powder to the flour mix for a little extra spice. this is a quick and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Overall this recipe was very tasy. The coating was cripy and golden and did adhere well to the chicken. I found that shaking the chicken in a plastic bag became a little difficult after coating several pieces of chicken as the flour mixture became clumpy and was sticking to the bag so I transferred the mixture to a bowl and rolled the chicken in the flour mixture, it worked just as well. It was a little too salty, I think next time I will cut down or omit the salt from the flour mixture and just spinkle over chicken when done frying. I also added paprika. This recipe would work grat w/ skinless, boneless chicken cut into strips and it also tastes great reheated in the oven-coating stays nice and crisp. I would definetly make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States