Picnic Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Yummy. I soaked my chicken in buttermilk ahead of time. Subbed seasoning salt for the salt, added paprika. This is yummy and I loved the chicken cold! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This Excellent Fried Chicken!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Outstanding! Best fried chicken recipe I have found yet. In addition I added Old Bay Seasoning, paprika, and poultry seasoning. Also, I cooked in our deep fat fryer in cooking oil rather than in shortening in a pan. Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I made this for my husband my Easter dinner. We both love fried chicken. This is a really good recipe. One of the best. I did add garlic powder and Lawry's seasoned salt to the flour mixture. I also fried mine in my deep fryer. This recipe turned out great!:) Thanks for sharing!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This is the best fried chicken I've ever made. My Dad was totally floored when I fried it for him. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Great basic recipe! I used Canola oil since it was all i had and it turned out well. I also added some garlic powder, sage, and paprika for extra flavor. You have to change the oil frequently or it won't properly fry -it'll turn everything black or cook very slow causing the breading to be soggy with oil and not crispy. A great way to test the readiness of the oil is to sprinkle a bit of water into it. If it sizzles, it's hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This recipe is delicious. We absolutely loved it. Our changes were to make it a little more spicy -- marinating 2 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts in buttermilk and pepper sauce overnight.. we also added 1/2 tsp. each of poultry seasoning, ground chili, paprika, and ground pepper, 1 tsp each salt and garlic powder. We also double breaded the chicken pieces. Cooked it in peanut oil. Simple and not really messy either. Tastes just like the fast food to us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This was a very good recipe. Very simple! I dipped the chicken in flour twice and wished that I had increased the flour mixture, because I ran out with only one chicken breaded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This is a wonderful recipie. I did as others suggested with the buttermilk and paprika and lowering the salt, but I also had to make a seperate batch for my dad. For those of you on a LOW CARB DIET, instead of flour use 1 part crush porkrines and 1 part soy flour. My family enjoyed the pork rines more than the flour and next time we will use spicy pork rines!! But the original is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrystleHanes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
loved it..did add 2 tsp. paprika..thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States