Picnic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kba
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This is a pretty delicious banana cake, fluffy and moist. Used almonds, just great! Got surprised by its flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I decided to make this instead of our usual banana bread since my little boy loves marshmallows too. It was a huge it with the whole family. We could have eaten the whole pan tonight! I used mini marshmallows to cover the bottom of the pan, baked 30 minutes, and had no problems with burning. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I made this wonderful cake this morning. I used mini marshmallows, and did not get craters. It looked like a coffee cake. It was done in 30 minutes. For those who are burning the marshmallows, you should test your oven temperature with an independent gauge. My oven runs 15 degrees cooler, so I have to adjust for that (my 350 is really at 365, the author of this recipe's oven was probably running cool too, accounting for the long 40 minute bake time). Also, the typical toothpick test for doneness won't work on this cake because of the melted marshmallow. You should bake this cake until the center no longer jiggles however, don't check it too soon and don't jiggle it too hard. You don't want the cake to fall! Very easy recipe, very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Made this for a day of boating. This cake was great-no frosting so it was easy to transport and everyone enjoyed it. Six year old nephew licked the pan! I prepared as written but after reading reviews I took advice and loosely covered with foil after 30 minutes, then baked for additional 10 minutes (40 minutes total) We renamed it "Crater Cake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This cake is definitely tasty! However I will call it Ugly Cake instead of Picnic Cake. I had read several reviews beforehand though so it wasn't any surprise. I'm really glad I did because if not I would of had a completely burnt top! I baked it at 350 as directed but set my timer for 35 min. Checked it after 25 min and the cake was just then done inside, the marshmallows rose to the top and melted but already had burnt polka dots across the top. Still very yummy to me as I like the flavor of burnt marshmallow. Essentially this tasted like moist banana bread with a toasted marshmallow crust. It worked out nicely considering I just wanted to find a recipe to use one sad black banana and happened to have marshmallows too. The only thing I didn't have on hand was buttermilk so I used 1/2 tbsp lemon juice mixed into 1/2 cup regular milk which is a well known buttermilk substitute (you can use white vinegar too if you don't have lemon juice). I like this recipe since I can omit the marshmallows in the future to just make a great banana cake. I have friends who love Banana Moon Pies and this would be right up their alley. With the marshmallow craters maybe call it Banana Moon Cake? Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This was amazing. Yes, its didn't look great, but it tasted out of this world. The entire cake was consumed by 4 of us the same night. I just could not get enough of the taste of this. If you are trying to diet, please do not taste this cake because you will want bite after bite after bite. It is amazingly moist and the marshmallow 'topping' is exactly the right amount of crispy crunch. I followed the instructions except I baked this for only 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Delicious and very moist. Lots of banana flavor! Nice change from banana bread. Halved recipe, except buttermilk (used 1/2 cup) and baked in 9"x9" pan. Substituted single layer of miniature marshmallows, avoiding the problems others had with the large marshmallows. Batter will be very thick. Covered cake pan with baking sheet last 10 minutes of baking time to prevent over browning. Watch closely, you may need to lower oven temperature. Baked for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This cake has a good taste, but a poor overall appearance. I had to make a "foil tent" to put on the cake at the 30 minute mark as the marshmallows were done but the cake part was not. I would make again for my family but would not make this to take to an outing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
We really liked this. I didn't have any buttermilk so used ordinary milk with 1/2 T of vinegar added. I also didn't use the nuts. I had no trouble with the marshmallows burning although my cake was done in about 35 minutes. I liked the slight toffee taste the marshmallows added. Thankyou ICOOKSOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
MMM!! this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brandenburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States