Pickled Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Penny Hedman
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This is a very easy recipe and a great way to use the extra squash. Especially the yellow crookneck that are too mature to use just for steaming. Tastes great! Can't wait to try it on toasted French bread. I too did not boil the mixture after soaking in the pickling brine. Did a 10 minute water bath to can the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Hedman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
EXCELLENT be sure to do the vegetable's raw. I've done several batch's and changed things per different taste for different parties I do... one I did cider vinegar with hot peppers and garlic cloves. hubby loved these's and asked for more this year also did as is recipe alittle too sweet but worked well for a wedding party that requested them. also work's really well as a relish... just shred zucchini and follow recipe for sweet relish. for dill use no sugar and add fresh dill and alittle garlic. if you don't want the seeds in your mix putthem into a cheese cloth tied tight and boil with the liquid alot of it what do you like add to the liquid and go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I've made these three times now. In the first, I used the recipe for sugar, but in the second two versions I reduced it by half. I;ve used scalliosn and red pepper in place of green pepper and onions. Also, added a little more mustard seed and accidentally used celery salt instead of celery seed in one batch. Both versions worked out very well. I agree with the previous reviewers who state to leave the squash raw. I even cut it a little thicker than normal to make sure it stays crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
These are wonderful!! I sliced the squash & onion in thin rings - added a some long, shaved carrot slices for pretty color. Simply delsih and very easy! Will be making alot of this with all my garden squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This is a bit too sweet for my taste, but still good. To those reviewers that felt it came out mushy, the key is to only boil the brine. When it says to bring to a boil again: drain the vegetables, boil the liquid, spoon the vegetables into the jars, and pour the boiled liquid over them. This is a great method for cucumber pickles as well, because it allows the vegetables to release all their little bubbles, and then allows you to boil off any impurities that may spoil the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Love this with my fresh garden yellow summer squash, fresh crop onions and fresh garden carrots. The carrots add color to the jars. I slice them in long strips and it looks and tastes great! Try to leave the carrots a little crunchy. Yummy!!! I also use apple cider vinegar which gives it additional tangy-ness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This recipe is very similar to one that I use to make bread and butter cucumber pickles every summer. It's delicious. I've given several jars away already. It made 6 full pints, although I may have had closer to 3 pounds of squash. Because I knew I had more squash than the recipe calls for, I increased the sugar and vinegar proportionately. We'll be happy to have this in the cellar all winter. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Great! Followed brine exactly & wouldn't change- otherwise sliced 10 cups yellow squash thinly on mandolin, one large candy onion, no g.pepper. Didn't measure salt, just sprinkled canning salt to squash/onion mixture then tossed occasioanally for almost 2 hours, drained, packed jars, then added boiled brine. Heated lids and allowed to seal without coldpacking, period. I know some would say this is unsafe, but we ate a pint tonight and will refrigerate and eat the rest soon. These turned out great, like bread and butter and we love! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
WOW!! So simple and good!! I am a new "canner" and I was so excited when I found this. They turned out so so so good. How long until I can eat them???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachfaze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This is awesome just as is! Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States