Pickled Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I just got done making these. I made a few changes..First, since I have never pickled sausages or eggs I had read many recipes and got tips from each that I used in this recipe. First I did eggs and sausages together. I also used several meats to see what worked out best. Cheap hot dogs not beef, cause other reviews said all beef caused oil to float on surface. Second regular lil smokies, third sausage links. Then of course I boiled some eggs and pealed them and added to the jar. As far as the brine I used the 4 cups of vinegar, but only 2 cups water. I increased the salt to 3 TBS, added 3 bay leaves, 1 tsp basil, black pepper, 10 whole peppercorns, 2 TBS red cayenne pepper, 1 tsp red pepper flakes, sea salt, 10 drops red food color, & 4 cloves of fresh garlic. I minced 2 cloves and cooked in the brine . The other 2 I crushed and added to the jar. Once I cooked the brine and added all the meats and eggs I poured the vinegar over everything and closed it up..After it sat for about 2 hours it was killing me and I had to taste something. I pulled out a hot dog and I have to tell you that in a couple days these will be great!! There gonna b a little spicy and have a good zing..That's what I wanted. I am trying to copy cat Tijuana mama's, Red Hots, etc. This recipe is gonna do that. I plan on staying out of them for at least a week :) before I dig in... ~~ Fingers Crossed~they make it that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
This did not have the zip of others I have tasted. I will try and make again but I will try only 1/2 the amount of water and leave the vinegar the same.---Tried again with 1/2 the amount of water and added a couple slices of jalapeano. Turned out GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Found that by limiting the water to 1 cup and vinegar to 2 cup and adding crussed hot pepper and all spice I achieved a spicer pickled taste. But still a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kittanning, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
My husband loves pickled bologna, but we cannot find it in the stores anymore. So, I decided to use this recipe with ring bologna. I have made it twice. The first time exactly as the recipe is written, (minus the food coloring) and the next time I reduced the water by 1 cup,and added 1 TLB. hot sauce. We preferred the second batch to the first. Just our preference. Either way, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
used half of water used mild pepperoni sticks as sausage used 2 Jalapeano peppers and garlic Turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Lou loves these, I reduced water by a cup and left everything else the same. Oh, no red coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Two cups vinegar i cup water yes, two tbls salt yes, sausage or eggs yes, and i add jalapenos and red pepper flakes, Garlic,and oinions and pickle mix. comes of great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whiskeylips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
These are GREAT! So easy. This was my first attempt at pickling and it was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Was looking for a copycat recipe for Penrose Hot Sausages and stumbled upon this one. I had just taken delivery of a two pound package of Klement's beef sticks that I had ordered from a coworker's daughter who was doing a fundraiser. The sticks were perfectly sized to fit inside a quart jar without having to cut them down. I reduced the water by one cup, added hot pepper flakes and a bit of habanero hot sauce and omitted the food coloring. I was able to pack 15 sausages in each jar, covered them with the brine, and put on new lids and rings. The results were excellent after only two days, but I'm hoping the second jar will be even better after having more time to sit in the brine solution. One thing I would recommend is to store them in the refrigerator as soon as the jars are cool enough to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I made this and added 1/3 cup of siracha (rooster sauce) a chinese hot sauce and only used 2 cups water. It was awesome. Going to store to get more sausage today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States