Pickled Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cliff
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Overall these turned out pretty well. I used a combo of kielbasa and beef-sausages. The kielbasa were slightly better. I omitted the red dye and substituted hot sauce because I prefer a less artificial look. I also recommend letting the pickling brine cool down for 45 mins or so. Boiling-hot liquid will draw out the fat from the sausages, leading to some rather unappetizing-looking fat chunks in the final product. For my subsequent batch I let it cool down and avoided this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I used this to make pickled bologna with left over Koegel Vienna hot dogs. These turned out fantastic and almost identical to the Koegel's Pickle Bologna I grew up on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Two cups vinegar i cup water yes, two tbls salt yes, sausage or eggs yes, and i add jalapenos and red pepper flakes, Garlic,and oinions and pickle mix. comes of great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whiskeylips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Pretty good. @scottkp71 Siracha IS NOT CHINESE DUDE. It is Vietnamese, totally different then Chinese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I just got done making these. I made a few changes..First, since I have never pickled sausages or eggs I had read many recipes and got tips from each that I used in this recipe. First I did eggs and sausages together. I also used several meats to see what worked out best. Cheap hot dogs not beef, cause other reviews said all beef caused oil to float on surface. Second regular lil smokies, third sausage links. Then of course I boiled some eggs and pealed them and added to the jar. As far as the brine I used the 4 cups of vinegar, but only 2 cups water. I increased the salt to 3 TBS, added 3 bay leaves, 1 tsp basil, black pepper, 10 whole peppercorns, 2 TBS red cayenne pepper, 1 tsp red pepper flakes, sea salt, 10 drops red food color, & 4 cloves of fresh garlic. I minced 2 cloves and cooked in the brine . The other 2 I crushed and added to the jar. Once I cooked the brine and added all the meats and eggs I poured the vinegar over everything and closed it up..After it sat for about 2 hours it was killing me and I had to taste something. I pulled out a hot dog and I have to tell you that in a couple days these will be great!! There gonna b a little spicy and have a good zing..That's what I wanted. I am trying to copy cat Tijuana mama's, Red Hots, etc. This recipe is gonna do that. I plan on staying out of them for at least a week :) before I dig in... ~~ Fingers Crossed~they make it that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Was looking for a copycat recipe for Penrose Hot Sausages and stumbled upon this one. I had just taken delivery of a two pound package of Klement's beef sticks that I had ordered from a coworker's daughter who was doing a fundraiser. The sticks were perfectly sized to fit inside a quart jar without having to cut them down. I reduced the water by one cup, added hot pepper flakes and a bit of habanero hot sauce and omitted the food coloring. I was able to pack 15 sausages in each jar, covered them with the brine, and put on new lids and rings. The results were excellent after only two days, but I'm hoping the second jar will be even better after having more time to sit in the brine solution. One thing I would recommend is to store them in the refrigerator as soon as the jars are cool enough to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Lou loves these, I reduced water by a cup and left everything else the same. Oh, no red coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was real good I made it then put more vinegar and added 2 t osred pepper flakes the packets that you get from pizza take out works real good and tis time I added some hard boiled eggs that have been peeled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
These are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
used half of water used mild pepperoni sticks as sausage used 2 Jalapeano peppers and garlic Turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Smokey Sausage Cups

See how to make sausage in bite-size Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry cups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States