Pickled Jalapenos and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Very quick and easy. Filled a quart canning jar. Used 6 medium carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
We had some jalapenos that were starting to get a little old, so I found and tried this recipe. It is fantastic. I had only had the pickled peppers in restaurants, and these are so much better. To the vinegar and sugar, I added several shakes of ground pepper, around 1/4 tsp of Italian seasoning, and a few shakes of salt. I boiled my carrots for around five minutes before adding the peppers (quartered lengthwise into strips, with the membrane and seeds removed). I also added three cloves of garlic, quartered, and maybe 1/4 cup of sliced white onion. I only boiled everything together for a couple minutes, and then I let it all cool in the pot. When at room temperature, into a glass jar! So good, next time I want to add some cauliflower! Don't be scared of making pickled anything. The reward is worth the effort! Thanks for sharing, JC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Wonderful, the carrots were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Mine turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teena1015

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Little sweet and it needed water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
i must of done something wrong. Carrots are still too crispy. Too sugary also. Too bad. I live in San Diego and eat these all the time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Easy! Made this just for my husband and he enjoyed them. I didn't have jalapeño so I used the left over yellow peppers. Also added salt and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
The taste with my changes makes this a 10 star recipe but as is, only 4. I slice my carrots and simmer for about 8 minutes to slightly soften. I boiled the vinegar with the sugar and took it off the stove and added the white onion & jalepeno (I used jarred, not fresh). When the carrots were to my liking I scooped them into the vinegar mixture and let that set for 1 hour. I then put into 2 1-pint jars and will refrigerate. I did also add some salt as I think it needs that. YUMMMO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Whole family loves these. I always add about a tsp of oregano to the pickling liquid as that's how I remember them on the table at our favorite Mexican restaurant in San Diego. They keep in the fridge for about 2 weeks if they're around that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I made the recipe but added about 1 heaping tspn of dried oregano,4 cloves of crushed garlic,and a tspn of whole peppercorns to the boiled vinigar/sugar mixture! Yummy and totally tastes the same as the resturants
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria r s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Pickled Peppers

See how to make pickled peppers in a delicious and versatile vinegar brine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States