Pickled Hot Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
It was a really good starter recipe. I added a bit to the ingrients, pickling salt, and changed the cooking method a bit.....I added a few spices like dill and basil, for just a little extra and added all sorts of different peppers esp hotter ones like chili peppers to give it a bit of color and extra kick since the vinegar and cooking will take away the heat of the peppers. BTW, if you don't like the heat of the peppers, you can add a little oil to the bottom of the jars before filling and it will help to take away some of the kick of the peppers! I also put some pickling salt in the vinegar/water before boiling, just a TBSP or so. Takes away a bit of the sour taste some might get. I also filled the jars differently, making it a lot easier and a lot less dangerous in my opinion. Instead of actually cooking the peppers, onions, garlic, and spices with the Vinegar/Water; I stuff them into clean jars and poured the really hot vinegar/water mixture over them. I then re-cooked the jar with lids on to make them seal, like the recipe. This allowed the peppers to cook in the jars through the boiling process, but not lose as much heat and crunch. It was also a little easier in my opinion, allowing me to stuff my jar completely with the cool, just cut ingredients, instead of having to ladle and stuff hot peppers into the jars, making sure they were filled and not burning myself in the process. Hope that helps and thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
533 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Donovan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Simmering for five minutes turned the peppers to mush. I tried it a second time just adding boiled liquid to the jar full of peppers and it came out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
472 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Whew! I made these with a bunch of jalapenos and 2 cayenne peppers. I did throw in some evoo and fresh herbs as suggested by another reviewer. I also threw in some cherry tomatoes and green onions after I removed the pan from the heat -- I think you could pickle alomost anything in this mixture. I had some of the mixture left that wouldn't fit in the jars, so I added some more peppers for a few minutes, added 1/4 c. sugar and 1 T. salt, tossed it in the blender, and made some kickin' hot sauce. Simple recipe and pretty in the jars, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VOGTIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
A very simple and easy recipe. I use it to pickle banana peppers from my garden. I never seem to get enough peppers to do large batches so I scale down this recipe to do one jar at a time and then I refrigerate shortly afterward. Sometimes I will cut up new peppers and put them directly in the previous, already being used, jar and it turns out well. Great flavour overall and I hope to plant more next year just so I can use this recipe again and have more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Mine turned out mushy - not the right texture for pickled peppers. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
An excellent recipe for canning peppers from the garden. Easy and simple ingredients for anyone who can. We are very happy with the flavor and ease of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
These turned out quite well, but just a bit too vinegary. Maybe increase spices a bit to compete with the vinegar? Note: I initially wrote this review quite soon after canning the peppers. Now, 9 months later, I can say that these peppers are EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This was very easy and simple. As one of the others stated that soon after the taste is OK but when you let them "age" they are excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Hastings, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I added a little olive oil and basil for extra flavor. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: West Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Simply wonderful...I used habanero peppers instead of serrano. It made a beautiful jar! And everyone loved it. As it sits it gets better. Definately my favorite recipe for peppers!! ANd so easy to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

How to Make Pickled Peppers

See how to make pickled peppers in a delicious and versatile vinegar brine.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States