Pickled Hot Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but I am pinning it so I can when my peppers are ready. Someone ask about mushy peppers. I had that problem with my pickles until I discovered a product called "Pickle Crisp". It is manufactured by "Ball". It works great for pickles, they come out crisp now. I don't know if it will work on peppers, but I am going to try it. I only gave recipe 3 stars, since I hadn't tried it yet, will add better review when I do. Thank you all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul W. Heaton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Easy to make, and peppers taste terrific! We had an abundance of hot fresno and anaheim chiles this year - this recipe was perfect! We sliced them in thin rings instead of big chunks, and did not process them - no need if they are kept in the fridge, as the vinegar will inhibit spoilage. We did add some sea salt to the recipe - about 1 teaspoon. Can't wait to put them on a homemade deli sandwich - they taste very similar to store-bought pepperoncinis! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I don't can them but keep them refrigerated. Home grown jallys and this recipe kicks balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apendecto

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Everybody loves them and always ask for the recipe. Quick and easy to make. I do not cook my peppers at all. I chop em' and put em' in the jars and pour the hot vinegar over them. Water bath as it says. Taste fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I reduced the heat for us by using only 1/4# of banana peppers and using Anaheim chilis instead of jalapenos. Everything else stayed the same. These were so nice having them around for sandwiches or just snacking. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My Father LOVED these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
this is the one recipe that is off the chart good.it was excatly what i was looking for to can all the peppers i grew this summer.i added a little extea onion just because i like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garyjerome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I, like some of the other reviewers, made my first batch and it turned out mushy. I am currently working on my second batch which I used 1/3 c pickling lime and a 1 gallon water(just a guess). I am crossing my fingers that this batch turns out less mushy. I also added the pepper raw to the jars and then threw the hot vinegar mix on top. Spices were .at the bottom of the jar also added quite a bit more spices to mine. I added tumeric (hoping to improve the color), peppercorns whole, brown mustard seed, along with the garlic. The taste is amazing. It tasted just like pepperocinis. I used half banana peppers & half anaheims for the first batch. This second is all banana. Not hot but full of flavor. I will make a few batches this summer and report back the best ratios
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Turned out great! We needed a recipe for this and were delighted to see that this was a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Uh ok, look, this is ok but like a few others I am not to keen on cooking the peppers in the liquid unless you like mushy peppers. Better to pack the jar with peppers, and then pour the cooked liquid on top, slit each pepper about an inch (or 1/3 the length of the pepper for smaller ones), so th eliquid can enter the peppers. pour the liquid till it reaches about 1/4 inch from th etop, placed lids tightly on the jars and put them immersed in near boiling water for about 10 to 15 minutes to seal jars. Let the jars then cool to room temp and I place them in the compact fridge in my basement that is set at a temp setting of 1. It holds about twenty jars. Let them "cure" for about 3 weeks to a month and man, great. I add to th ejar with peppers, about 6 slivers of raw onion, 1 cinamon stick, 1 bay leaf, and about a teaspoon of peppercorns. They are a little spicy, not too spicy, but have a great flavor. Eat them plain, with crackers, or for cooking in sauces. This is th esimplest way to can or jar pickles. You don't need all the fancy junk like pressure cookers, canning pots. You kitchen needs one large pot and maybe, maybe a couple medium sized pots depending on how many jars you want to do at one time. I usually do six at a time. easy and idiot proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

How to Make Pickled Peppers

See how to make pickled peppers in a delicious and versatile vinegar brine.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States