Pickled Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
i love bloody marys these are great in them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
These beans are wonderful! My great uncle used to can dilly beans for me when I was younger and since he passed away I've been craving them. No one else in my family cans them. I found this recipe and made my own. I've been putting them into quarts because the pints just don't last long enough. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I have been making Dilly Beans for years and everyone now just expects to get a jar at Christmas. If you like things a little spicy, try putting a 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper or some red pepper flakes in each jar with the garlic and dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
These are SO good... even my 5-year old daughter couldn't get enough. I added a banana pepper to each jar for "looks", too... which added some flavor to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLCOUG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
These are great! People couldn't get enough of them. The earlier reviewer who says this recipe is unsafe because it isn't pressure canned is incorrect. The acid in the vinegar makes this a pickle which means it is safe to water bath. You would NOT want to mess around with the 50/50 proportion of water to vinegar though, that could cause safety problems. The jars come out of the water bath with the beans looking ugly and shriveled but if you let the jars stand in your pantry for at least a couple of weeks the beans will rehydrate and look and taste just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
Perfect as is. I did not change a thing. This is my 2nd batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Used half wax beans and half green beans. Also, substituted dill weed for fresh dill. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
your recipe didn't indicate how long before you could eat them. I called my mother and mother in law and all they could tell me was if it was the same as pickles you needed to wait 3 to 4 months before eating???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
very good and easy. I love vinegar but this was a tad too strong for me. Will decrease the vinegar a bit next time. I had been craving pickled green beans for a while and couldn't find them in the grocery store so decided to check my tried and true "All Recipes" and there it was! I was very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States