Pickled Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
i love them they are the best thank you brenda I use the same recipe but add a little jalapeno pepper and they are great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
These have been sitting in the fridge so long, I forgot I made them! I'd been buying expensive pickled garlic cloves at Meijer for a good while when I saw this recipe, so I thought I'd give it a go. I love them! I used mustard seeds instead of dry mustard, because a)that's what I had on hand and b)that's what the Meijer garlics have too. I like slicing them up in salads. Thanks so much, Brenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Very tasty with no garlic breath. A variation could substitute the pepper with a red chili pepper. Asd fresh dill,and red pepper instead of mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
These little gems are absolutely fabulous! I left out the mustard and celery seeds. I let mine sit for about 2 weeks and they only get better with time. I sent a batch to my grandmother for Christmas and she loved them. They are very addictive. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Excellent recipe! We added lots of peppers and used apple cider vinegar instead of regular vinegar. It gave it a sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
REALLY good! I love them and garlic is so good for you. No icky garlic breath! I added some jalapenos. Fabulous for gifts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
If you blanch the garlic for 3-4 minutes you don't have to wait a month for them to pickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Fantastic way to eat garlic. I add soy sauce to taste and reduce salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
My family adored this. It's so good over a curry flavored soup like Mulligatawny, which is what I had it over, as the flavors contrast very nicely. I made half the recipe( wish I hadn't) but it was perfectly pickled after 2 weeks. Also no celery seed, just used mustard seed, but no spice bag either...I just dumped it in the mix and kept it there...that's how my mom has always pickled. Also, next time I'll make the full recipe, but use the halved sugar amount...think it will be better a little less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I modified this recipe. I added 1/3 cuo sliced jalapeno, 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes, 1/4 teaspoon fresh sage and 1/4 teaspoon fresh oregano. I also processed sealed jars in boiling water bath for 10 minutes so that refrigeration isn't necessary and the finished product will last much longer. Great flavor and will definitely do these another time. By the way purchasing peeled garlic cloves makes the job much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Pickled Grilled Vegetables

See how to pickle grilled cucumbers and red peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States