Pickled Eggs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Next time I'll cut the water and add more vinegar and leave the bay leaf out (there's already bay leaf in the pickling spices I used). Good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Just like my Mom used to make.....soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I didn't have the recipe in front of me so I kinda winged it. I didn't exactly sterilize the jars and lids. I put one tablespoon of pickling spice in each jar along work a bay leaf in each and used about a teaspoon of pickling salt in each jar. About a teaspoon of minced garlic from a jar was convenient. Three weeks later they turned out to be the best (and strongest flavoured) pickled eggs ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ted

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I love pickled eggs. Always wanted a recipe. I bought some jalepeno eggs from the Amish and decided to make my own. Didn't change a thing to the recipe except added hot peppers and a dash of red pepper flakes. Wonderful easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
To anyone who tries this please remember that newer eggs are harder than heck to peel...buy your eggs at least a week in advance then pickle on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I love this recipe!! We like eggs a little tart and spicy so I added a few peppercorns and a pinch of crushed red peppers and a few sliced onions. Also, I did not add the sugar. We just opened the first jar after 9 days!!! Wonderful!! Can't wait for my kids to try them!! Josie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Took Liane's advice and used apple cider, 2 tsp salt and 1/3 cup of sugar. I also dropped the bay leaf and used about 6 cloves of garlic. I've made the recipe a few times at this point and tried re-using the pickle juice with mixed results so I'd recommend creating new pickle juice every time. I now use 18 eggs instead of 12 and find it works out fine which helps stretch the recipe a bit. One hint: use eggs that are at least a few days old. Fresh ones are very very hard to peel and result in all sorts of divots and unappealing gouges. Older eggs peel much more easily. I know it sounds weird that you wouldn't want fresh eggs but trust me, you don't! Warning: the eggs go fast! And we can never wait 8 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These were very good. Almost like the pickled eggs from our local deli, but just seemed like they were missing something. Can't quite identify what, but something. I will keep using this recipe though, and maybe see if I can tweak it and find what's missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NLCHIPMAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Made these yesterday. I can't wait for 10 days to pass. Let ya'll know how they turned out and what I did differant.Not sure what to rate it yet, but i will come back and rate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Did not like the pickling spice at all. Helped the recipe out by adding jalapenos and red chilli flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayzilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States