Pickled Eggs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
AWESOME, They turned out perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
These are really good!(I grew up with the pink pickled eggs made with pickled beets, but I like these kind a lot more) I use a few sliced jalapenos, a whole bulb of peeled and chopped garlic, 1/2 white vinegar, 1/4 apple cider vinegar and 1/4 balsamic vinegar. I don't add a bay leaf, or pickling spices- just a lot of garlic and jalapenos and various vinegars, about 15 whole black peppercorns and about a 1/4 c. sugar. The eggs look brownish (due to the balsamic vinegar) and not very appetizing but they taste out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I don't change the recipe other than a 1/4 teaspoon of fresh ground hot pepper mix from my garden. I always bring them to deer camp and to the cabin for other guy weekends. I steam my eggs for 10-11 minutes then cool under cold water. Ive gotten eggs from mt friend that are hours old, and they still peel easily. Steam your eggs folks! I make these a few times a year and even my 4 year old son, and 2 year old daughter ask for them. My wife on the other hand threatens divorce when the house smells of the brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Hilewsky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Egg-cellent (sorry, had to do it)starting point for pickled eggs. Mix it up by varying the components (acid liquid, non-acid liquid, and/or spice additives). Our latest adventure used olive brine for the water component and crisply fried, lean, thick-cut bacon, sweet onions, olives and peppercorns. Turned out great. Bacon was yummy pickled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I was wondering do you know the expected shelf life of these? I made a smal batch to try it out and they were good so I plan on making a really big batch of these and was wondering how long they could be stored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Great recipe for the average pickler, i changed up the recipe abit, added 1/4cup more vinegar added dried hot pepper and fennel seeds, gives it a good kick....this recipe also works great for carrots!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Next time I'll cut the water and add more vinegar and leave the bay leaf out (there's already bay leaf in the pickling spices I used). Good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Just like my Mom used to make.....soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I didn't have the recipe in front of me so I kinda winged it. I didn't exactly sterilize the jars and lids. I put one tablespoon of pickling spice in each jar along work a bay leaf in each and used about a teaspoon of pickling salt in each jar. About a teaspoon of minced garlic from a jar was convenient. Three weeks later they turned out to be the best (and strongest flavoured) pickled eggs ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ted

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I love pickled eggs. Always wanted a recipe. I bought some jalepeno eggs from the Amish and decided to make my own. Didn't change a thing to the recipe except added hot peppers and a dash of red pepper flakes. Wonderful easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Easter Chick Deviled Eggs

A delicious deviled egg recipe gets a cute-for-Easter makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States