Pickled Eggs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Hey! I tried with cubes of the beets tasting the eggs together in the jar. -Great and thanks!!! Jan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I substituted red wine vinegar for red wine & white vinegar. Gives it a more "pickled flavour".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RGW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Great recipe for eggs! The pickling spices add a complexity of flavors and the wine adds a beautiful deep color. The only thing I would do different is cut back on the water, increase the wine and vinegar, and up the spices to a tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Great just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I followed the recipe at first was very good. I than tweeked it a tad.I ditched the red wine and the pickling spice.I upped the vinegar by half a cup.I left the beets in and sliced the onion thick. Spot on.I cant seem keep these around the family eats them faster than I can make them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Monmouth Junction, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
the only thing i do that is different....I add a tspn of sugar........other than that...it's a great recipe for the pickled lover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDDWARD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Flavorless. Needs more vinegar. Suggest red wine vinegar double recipe quantity and subtract the wine from the recipe. Forget the pickling spice, it matters not. Don't chop onion either: slice it for better looks. Havn't tried my own suggestions, but it has got to be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
Probably just me but it just wasn't the taste I was going for. Just didn't seem to be very "pickled".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States