Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Ahhhhh LOVE it!!! This is exactly the same as my grandma's recipe!! I got some beets and came hunting for a recipe because I don't have Grandma's anymore. I"m sure this is exactly it. I have made them before but lost the recipe. I will NOT forget this time that 1/4 cup of whole cloves means spread out through all the jars and not 1/4 cup IN EACH JAR....lol. I've learned a lot since then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHill

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I LOVE this recipe, My grandmother ,Dagmar, came to Canada during WW2 from Estonia and when they immigrated here the family got jobs on a beet farm just outside of Lethbridge, Alberta. Her specialty was Sugar Beets she called them and this is the recipe!!! I am so grateful to have found it on this website. I made two 2L jars and it brought back such a wonderful memory Thank You So Much! Lori Brinkworth, Thunder Bay. On Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Made this recipe for the first time this year. My husband loves them so much, I just finished my third (or was it fourth?) batch a few minutes ago. Thanks so much for a recipe that is sure to become a family staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I got creative using some modern flair: I used both red & yellow beets. It's very attractive in the jar! And they both have such distinct flavors that when they pickled you can taste the difference! When cooking the beets, I added a few whole cloves & peppercorns, a cinnamon stick, orange and onion slices which flavored the juice that will be used for brining. It's not spicy just complex. Then when I made the brine, I used apple cider vinegar and unrefined cane sugar. Then I used quart jars and placed a single clove, a slice of orange and peppercorns in the bottom. So far, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Mostly just added a half cinnamon stick to each jar and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian N Dean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Thanks for the recipe, Sharon! Absolutely stellar! I use my husband Jim as a litmus test on any pickeling recipes. According to Jim, no one cans quite like Mother Irene & Mother Mae. This one passed with flying colors! The recipe was simple to make and ready to eat the next day! I must say that this recipe made me look pretty doggone good! Thanks again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
the aroma while cooking the brine smelt amazing and the end result was so yummy my family could hardly wait to eat them they were opened the day after they were canned haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Delicious - just finished canning my second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
easy recipe, and my mom loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyTiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Used this recipe last fall to can pickled beets. It is very similar to the recipe I use to make pickled eggs and beets. I usually just canned beets plain, but decided to try pickling them this year. The only change I made was to use cider vinegar. The beets turned out to be great. Plan on planting more beets this year now that I have a great recipe to use in canning them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States