Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This got me to eating beets.. I've made a few adjustments... add a cinnamon stick for each jar and also increase the cloves. I'm not canning them so I just put the whole peeled beets in hot water and then slice after they get soft. I usually am doing about a 26 oz. jar at a time.. tonight I'm making 2 as my produce co-op brought me beets 2 weeks in a row. Been great on a salad w/ goat cheese, pecans and mixed greens and a raspberry vinagrette - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Good basic recipe.. To this I always add Sliced onions and cinnamon along with the cloves.. Delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This recipe is not bad but the acid is way too high, so adding equal parts water and vinegar will be perfect. Also, I added 1 tsp of allspice, 1 tsp of cinnamon and then 1/2 cup pickling spices tied in a cheese cloth to the pot. I bake the small beets in their skins in the oven at 400 f for 1 hour and once cooked, plunge them in cold water and the skins simply slip off. Trust me this is way better than peeling them, which is so tedious, and the flavour..... It doesn't matter the size you choose to cut them, the flavour is wonderful. My husband hated beets until I made them this way, now, he eats them at every meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Wow, amazing flavour. Way better than store bought:) Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Perfect flavour and crunchy texture. I made several dozen jars and I am looking forward to giving them out at Christmas. I like the combination of sweet and cloves. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper-Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This is an excellent recipe - However....1. the recipe doesn't specify jar size. This is important because the larger the jar, the longer the required processing. 2. The recipe says to cook the beets about 15 minutes: it's more like 30 - 45 minutes. 3. Almost all sources today will say to process pickled beets 30 minutes, rather than the 10 in this recipe. Lastly, to those who would peel the beets before cooking - I would encourage you NOT to do so. Cooking them whole reduces the "bleeding" but they're so easy and quick to peel after cooking, and less waste. It may seem that given my comments above that 4 stars is overrating the recipe but I do like the simple nature of Sharon Howard's farmer's wife's recipe and will continue to use it in future whenever I can beets with the changes I've noted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Excellent! I made these for the first time using beets that my husband grew in our garden. They turned out wonderful. I've never had pickled beets before but decided to make them because my husband is so fond of them. (And, what's better than fresh veggies...) The 3 year old would have eaten the whole jar if we let her, and she's a picky eater. I took the advice of other reviewers and peeled the beets before cooking them. I sliced them because I thought it would be easier for the 3 year old to eat. And, I added only 3 cloves to each jar. They don't seem to be overpowering but add just enough of the flavor. We let them sit 2-3 weeks before making another batch to give the flavors time to meld. I will make more as soon as our second round of beets is ready. Thanks for the recipe. We'll use this one again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Cook beets, cool until you are able to handle them. The skin will come off easily in your hands (no need for a vegetable peeler). Do not cut beets prior to cooking to ensure full flavour, colour and nutrients. Proceed with recipe after skinning the beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I'm sorry I "listened" to the review that said too much vinegar - it isn't!!! I cut back and now they're just a bit sweet, but excellent. I will keep this as my go to recipe w/full vinegar. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakelady621

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Absolutely perfect. The whole family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States