Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TNT tree service
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Made this just as the recipe says to and it turned out great! :) gonna keep it and hand it done to my kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This recipe is almost identical to mine except that I add 2 cups of strained beat juice to the brine. I also use THREE DROPS of clove oil to the brine instead of cloves. Love these beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
We loved these! A little on the sweet side for my liking so next time will add less sugar. Skipped the cloves all together and added a 1/2 tsp. of whole peppercorn to the bottom of each jar. 10lbs of beets filled 7 - 1 quart jars packed loosely, but I did have to make extra brine for the last 3 jars. These will be a welcoming treat come the holidays. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shareasmiletoday

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I used demarara sugar instead of white sugar and red wine vinegar instead of white vinegar. 10 lbs. of beets made 12 pint jars. I only used 1 Tbsp. of whole cloves because I prefer to keep the spices light. That way I can use the pickled beets in a variety of recipes without the cloves taking over. I had to make more brine to cover the last two jar's beets. I used 1/4 c. red wine vinegar, 2 Tbsp. demarara sugar, 2 Tbsp. water and 1/4 tsp. salt. With the modifications, the recipe tastes fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I tried this recipe recently and left the cloves out entirely. My family prefers pickled beets without spice of any kind. The recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hope, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
It is a very good recipe except for one thing…..i had used up all the brine with 3 jars not filled! Sue Marshall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This recipes was easy to follow, however it took a lot longer than 50 minutes. It took 30 minutes for the beets to get nice and tender. It took a total of about an hour and a half to two hours total prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Tried this and absolutely love it! And I am not a "pickling" beginner by any means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Not impressive. WAY TOO MUCH CLOVE, it numbed our tongues immediately. Unfortunately I've got 5 pts of tongue numbing unimpressive beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I use a similar recipe but use just a couple of cloves and add a stick of cinnamon to the brine while it's heating. My mother in law (many years ago) put in a sprig of fresh dill in one jar and we never make it without the dill anymore. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States