Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Made some last week, cracked one open this morning to try! Great simple recipe, and I had no issues with the processing time, everything sealed perfectly, and as it's all hot and sterilized it should be perfect! This will be my go-to for kitchen gifts from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I tried this recipe for the first time last fall after receiving a bunch of beets from my uncle's garden. I was really nervous, since I'd never done any canning before, but it seemed easy enough. After reading the other reviews, I decided to add one whole clove per jar. I was thrilled when the result was a pickled beet that tasted just like my mom's! And despite just one per jar, the clove is very noticeable, but not overpowering. I planted beets myself this year and am canning my third batch. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Everyone who receives these beets raves about how good they are. My sister and I have spent several afternoons together happily putting up beets to this recipe. I sometimes add a peeled hard-boiled egg in the jar, yummy! The brine is simple to make and adapts readily to other fruits (watermelon rind) and veggies (carrots).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Second year making this and we love them. I cut the sugar in half though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
WAY too much cloves!! I only had about 1/8 cup & it was still overpowering. Left my tongue numb. My girlfriend won't eat them & don't know if I will either. Maybe the clove taste will lessen over time but I'm not holding out much hope. What a waste of time & 5 quarts of beets from my garden. I should have read the reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TNT tree service
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Made this just as the recipe says to and it turned out great! :) gonna keep it and hand it done to my kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This recipe is almost identical to mine except that I add 2 cups of strained beat juice to the brine. I also use THREE DROPS of clove oil to the brine instead of cloves. Love these beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Boehm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
We loved these! A little on the sweet side for my liking so next time will add less sugar. Skipped the cloves all together and added a 1/2 tsp. of whole peppercorn to the bottom of each jar. 10lbs of beets filled 7 - 1 quart jars packed loosely, but I did have to make extra brine for the last 3 jars. These will be a welcoming treat come the holidays. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I used demarara sugar instead of white sugar and red wine vinegar instead of white vinegar. 10 lbs. of beets made 12 pint jars. I only used 1 Tbsp. of whole cloves because I prefer to keep the spices light. That way I can use the pickled beets in a variety of recipes without the cloves taking over. I had to make more brine to cover the last two jar's beets. I used 1/4 c. red wine vinegar, 2 Tbsp. demarara sugar, 2 Tbsp. water and 1/4 tsp. salt. With the modifications, the recipe tastes fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I tried this recipe recently and left the cloves out entirely. My family prefers pickled beets without spice of any kind. The recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hope, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States