Pickled Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Good, a little sweeter than I am used too but good. thanks. for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgattis
Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I like the flavor of these but they are too sweet. I didn't can these and attempted to use a ziploc bag, and serve 24 hours later. It didn't work. Would've if I blanched them first. Lack of the water bath didn't allow them to soften. After making both this recipe and Pickled Asparagus II, I like the pickled Asparagus II better. Not as sweet as this one. I like the onion though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Canning cautions: 1)Adjust processing time according to altitude, higher altitude needs more time. 2)Do not touch the dimple on the lid. If it does not vaccuum down on its own, then it did not seal correctly. You can re-process; first remove the lid, clean the lip of the jar and use a new clean lid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Wow-I made these last year and now my husband had me make twice the amout this year.They are very-very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anette Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Camelknees33
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I cannot say how good this recipe is. I have made numerous batches since finding this one recipe because it is the best one I found! Thank you to Behr for sharing it!!! Everyone I have given these asparagus spears too rave about how good they are, and they really, really are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camelknees33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I barely followed this recipe at all as I wanted spicy spears for bloody mary's and I know that the sugar takes the bite out of the vinegar. I will say that the asparagus prep directions were spot on. I also added smashed garlic cloves to each jar and a sliced red jalapeno and omitted the mustard and dill seed. I doubled the fresh dill. So, after a lot of adjustments I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucyford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was my first time pickling and it was kind of a scary experience! The asparagus turned out a lot better than ibthought they would, bubthe picle was sweet, which I don't care for. Will be looking for dill only pickles. Dilly beans are next on my list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal907

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This is good, although next time i will add less sugar. I was going more of a "bloody mary" type asparagus that is a little hotter, and less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perham, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hawley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Quite yummy. I just made them for the refrigerator, cooked the asparagus in the pickling liquid til just barely cooked, and then put in jar and into frig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Didn't use dill seed and accidentally added crushed red peppers to the boiling liquid and not to each jar. These had a very nice mix of sweet and tart. Next time I'll use larger jars, add more onion, a couple slivers of garlic and I think red bell pepper would be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States