Pickle Rollups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I make something similar to this, I use hot ham cut thick and slice green onions (scallions), we call these "green eyes". Everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Okay, this was probably my fault, but all I had was deli sliced salami, so I used that. I bought a chipotle flavored cream cheese, which probably wasn't a great idea, either. The end result was pretty disappointing. I dried the pickles but it was still a watery, greasy mess. I made about seven of them before I gave up. I can see this working out if you use a tortilla as a wrap and not the meat itself. Oh well, sorry for the negative review but this recipe didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This is good. The first ones I had used thin ham instead and a whole pickle inside, then sliced. Better tasting than you would think. People really went for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I have made these for years but with ham instead of pastrami. They sound odd but once you try them, they are delicious. I have made them for potlucks and even for my lunch. You can lighten it up by using low fat or fat free cream cheese too. Personally, I think Claussen pickles are the best for this recipe since they are more firm but I have used off brand pickles as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great recipe! This flew off the plate at my family gathering. I modified the recipe some. I definetly did not need as much cream cheese it called for, and I also added a ranch dip seasoning packet to the cream cheese before spreading for some extra flavor. I used black forest ham, turkey, and bologna. Small dill gherkins were the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These are a big hit everytime I take them to a party. They are gone almost immediately. I do use sliced luncheon ham instead, but will definitely try with pastrami. I spread cream cheese on the ham, place either baby pickles on or dill spears. Then I roll them up tightly and cut into about 1- 1 12 inch pieces. You can use toothpicks if you choose to hold together, but I find it is a waste and they look better without. Makes alot. I used one package (16 ounce) ham, one package cream cheese and 1 1/2 tall jars baby pickles. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tndrhrt64

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I make these with dried beef and they go so quickly. Everybody loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I love these things. I use hard salami though. Make alot, they disappear fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I make these a couple of different ways. But the most popular with my family is, sliced ham with pickled asparagus. And the cream cheese spreads a little easier if you pat the slices of ham dry with a paper towel first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINALLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
My family has been making these for years but we like to use the genoa salami with the dill pickles and cream cheese. We call them "Frog Eyes", definitely a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States