Pickle Rollups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
These make for a fun appetizer. I used wafer meat pastrami and it didn't have much kick. So I used a piece of wafer meat honey turkey and it turned out more flavorful. Also, try to dry off the pickle before wrapping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This is one of my faves! I like to call them "Frog Eyes" (everyone loves that name!). Also, it helps to dry the pickle and ham both well before wrapping. Veggie cream cheese is yummy in this as well! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Absolutely wonderful! I probably would add to the recipe to let them chill for a while before you cut them into bite sizes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I used ham instead of the pastrami and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
I love this one!! i love pickles too... i usually use thin sliced ham instead of sliced pastrami. you will get hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
My family really likes these. I used veggie style cream cheese and a thicker ham slice. It does work better if you do dry off the pickle. Otherwise they flatten and are not as pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I made these to take to a dinner. I used sweet pickles but followed the recipe otherwise. I think that the dill pickles would probably be better. They weren't awful but definitely not great. The adults ate a few of them but the kids wouldn't touch them. I left with almost as many as I had brought. Guess the group I made them for it just wasn't there thing. I would be sure you have some big time pickle lovers before you waste your time making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
My grandma makes these all the time for family gatherings, although she serves hers as whole pickles, not sliced. (Note: the whole pickle version needs a toothpick to keep the "wrapping" in place.) I've also seen a version of this where horseradish was added into the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I normally make these using ham and flour tortillas. However, I tried half using just the corned beef and pickles as the recipe indicates and the other half using the corned beef, pickles AND tortillas (ofcourse, this means adding a thin layer of cream cheese over the torillas to make the whole thing stick/roll properly). Pretty good but the ones in the torillas disappeared more quickly than those without (I guess its just preference). The corned beef is pretty good (considering it's not a favorite meat of mine). Just a note: I did not need nearly as much cream cheese as the recipe calls for...unless you like your spread really thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Simple and delicious. You can't go wrong. I used sweet pickles and dill pickles and enjoyed them both. My wife loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States