Pickle Rollups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Yummy, I have made this several times for school/family functions and they are always eaten up! I use light cream cheese and a variety of meats.....ham, honey ham, turkey, chicken. Haven't used pastrami because we do not like it. My kids just LOVE these & me too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
These make for a fun appetizer. I used wafer meat pastrami and it didn't have much kick. So I used a piece of wafer meat honey turkey and it turned out more flavorful. Also, try to dry off the pickle before wrapping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This is one of my faves! I like to call them "Frog Eyes" (everyone loves that name!). Also, it helps to dry the pickle and ham both well before wrapping. Veggie cream cheese is yummy in this as well! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Absolutely wonderful! I probably would add to the recipe to let them chill for a while before you cut them into bite sizes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I used ham instead of the pastrami and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
I love this one!! i love pickles too... i usually use thin sliced ham instead of sliced pastrami. you will get hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
My family really likes these. I used veggie style cream cheese and a thicker ham slice. It does work better if you do dry off the pickle. Otherwise they flatten and are not as pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I made these to take to a dinner. I used sweet pickles but followed the recipe otherwise. I think that the dill pickles would probably be better. They weren't awful but definitely not great. The adults ate a few of them but the kids wouldn't touch them. I left with almost as many as I had brought. Guess the group I made them for it just wasn't there thing. I would be sure you have some big time pickle lovers before you waste your time making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
My grandma makes these all the time for family gatherings, although she serves hers as whole pickles, not sliced. (Note: the whole pickle version needs a toothpick to keep the "wrapping" in place.) I've also seen a version of this where horseradish was added into the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I normally make these using ham and flour tortillas. However, I tried half using just the corned beef and pickles as the recipe indicates and the other half using the corned beef, pickles AND tortillas (ofcourse, this means adding a thin layer of cream cheese over the torillas to make the whole thing stick/roll properly). Pretty good but the ones in the torillas disappeared more quickly than those without (I guess its just preference). The corned beef is pretty good (considering it's not a favorite meat of mine). Just a note: I did not need nearly as much cream cheese as the recipe calls for...unless you like your spread really thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States