Picante Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I have made this for years when I need dinner in a pinch. Easy and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by selinamf1392
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I just made this and it was delicious with a capitol D...so Delicious. I was worried it wouldn't come out and thought the salsa may burn but instead the salsa seemed to perfectly infuse into the chicken in just about 20 minutes of cooking. I actually made the salsa I used for this myself so it would be as spicy as I like and seasoned the chicken with a bit of seasoned salt and it all came out great! Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by selinamf1392

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BeautifulWifey
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
very good recipe, leaves room to spice to your own liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeautifulWifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Simple and delicious! Try it! You won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Maine, USA
Living In: Sumner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Surpringly good! I made mine with "La Costena" brand salsa which was cheap at the Mexican grocer. I am amazed that just poaching the chicken actually works out. It really penetrates and boy mine was HOT. I used medium salsa. SPICEY..whew! But good! If you are tired of bland chicken try it.. ya won't believe it. Boy I didnt. It seems just.. TOO EASY. Wonder how this method would be with BBQ sauce? It sure is easier than baking and all the stuff you have to do to get some flavor into chicken. Really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
The simplicity of this recipe is brilliant. I needed to do something with an extra chicken breast, and was wondering what to do. I grabbed my jar of salsa and was good to go. So versatile, too! I wrapped up my chicken in a tortilla. This has so many possibilities. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I used this recipe when making chicken tacos one night. It was super easy to throw the chicken and sauce in the crock pot and then shred the chicken when it was done cooking. Very easy, but still I felt something was missing. Maybe it was the sauce I used. Overall, I think this recipe is a great starting point for recipes like chicken tacos or enchiladas... or even use this chicken to top a nice salad. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This was very easy to make and a great way to use up some chicken you're not really sure to do with. I felt weird about cooking the chicken in the sauce, so I poached the chicken in seasoned water then put it in the picante sauce and cooked. I used this in some chicken enchiladas for some added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Pretty darn good. I chunked the chicken and put the dish over mexican rice and added a little sour cream on top. Just enough kick. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSIKORA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
my fiance and I didn't like the texture of the chicken boiled. tastes better if you add a little mustard and brown sugar, and bake it...that's from another recipe on here, and it's sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States