Picante Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I doubled this recipe and used my crockpot. 4 partially frozen breasts were jucy and delicious after 4 hours on low. I served it with brown rice and roasted zucchini. This is a recipe I will use again and again I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
it was great, it was easy to make and my husband loved it. i added sour cream and a squeeze of lemon to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sami k.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shiloh, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I've also made this in a slow cooker with still frozen chicken breasts on low for about 3-4 hours, then shredded up the chicken with the picante sauce for a yummy chicken taco type salad or as someone else mentioned, chicken burritos. My husband likes to put the leftovers on nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I have made this chicken ,without this recipe, and wanted to leave a comment. I cook mine in the oven instead of stove top. Use frozen chicken breast (in the bag), pour salsa on top, cover with foil, cook for 1 hour at 350. NEVER dry when cooked this way. If you want a little extra flavor, season with a little chili powder, cumin, and garlic before adding salsa. Not necessary but adds some great flavor. I like to slice the chicken and use for fajitas. So easy. For an Italian version use pasta sauce to cook chicken and serve over noodles. Definitely a great way to cook a great meal especially when you're short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Pretty darn good. I chunked the chicken and put the dish over mexican rice and added a little sour cream on top. Just enough kick. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSIKORA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Easy and delicious! I used salsa instead of picante sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I'm a college student so this was very cheap and easy to make. I ended up chopping the chicken and mixing the whole mixture with a couple tablespoons of ranch dressing to use with salad to make a Santa Fe Salad...delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was delicious. The chicken turned out spicy and tender. I used 4 frozen chicken breasts and two jars of hot picante sauce. When the chicken was ready I shredded it. We then prepared it taco bar style with soft tortillas, lettuce, sour cream, and shredded cheese. We'll definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Delicious! I made mine with a garlic cilantro salsa over rice and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
excellent in chicken burritos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States