Picante Chicken Rice Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
The flavor for these burritos was excellent, however, with no sauce to go with them, they were very dry. Next time I will use a salsa verde to lay in the bottom of the pan and on top of the burritos. Also, I used minute rice with no problem (no need to let it simmer longer with the picante sauce). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Yeah this was a great recipe, taken practically word for word from Taste of Home - I have it in my 1997 Taste of Home yearbook. It calls for 1/3 c scallions instead of the 1/2 cup here. In any event - this is a great recipe. The prep time is a little long but I freeze leftovers individually and it's a treat to have them waiting. The amount of chicken can be changed - it really doesn't affect the flavor. I've added rinsed black beans to the mix as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I'm only giving this recipe 4 stars since I think there should be some sort of sauce poured over the burritos before baking. I did not do this when making my first batch and the cheese dried out. However, after pouring some taco sauce & sour cream over the top they were still delicious! I only used 1/2 of the chicken/rice mix and froze the other 1/2 to use another day. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
yummy and as for all those that commented about needing a sauce over-maybe you should be making enchiladas instead!! Thats not how burritos are traditionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
NICE TWIST TO BURRITOS! We really liked these alot! Other than adding a dash of cumin while cooking the chicken (and leaving it in small cubes oppossed to shredding the chicken) - I didn't change a thing! I love being pleasantly surprised and these sure turned my head! Served with some lettuce and green bell peppers - these babies were a hit! Thanks Heidi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
This was very good.. I was searching for a recipe to utilize my leftovers from the past couple of days and this was it. I had leftover chicken, broth, and spanish rice and salsa so making this was a super quick and super easy. I didn't have green onion or garlic so I used a yellow onion and garlic powder and it still turned out really good. In order to make this an easily prepared meal I suggest planing a few meals where you will have all the ingredients leftover. It'll make throwing these together much easier.. I'm not sure I would have made this otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2000
Excellent recipe!!!! The Mexican I cook for love it. This is by far the best burrito recipe ive found!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
SOOOO GOOD!!! I made my own salsa though but this woulda been good with the jarred stuff as well. That's the only change I made. My husband took extra leftovers to work and the guy he gave half to want's the recipe! Anyway thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was very easy and tasty. I had in my fridge leftover turkey breast seasoned with black pepper, garlic salt and dill weed as well as cooked brown rice. So I decided to use them for this rec. I used regular onion, no garlic (had it on turkey). After I sauteed onions I added turkey breast, rice, can of pinto beans and fresh salsa (all I had),forgot olives and did not need to use chicken stock. When heated through I spooned about 1 cup of the mixture on tortillas, sprinkled with mozzarella, jalapenos for hubby and rolled up. I transfered stuffed tortillas to my pan and put swiss cheese on top. Baked for 15 min on 350F. It is just two of us and so we had just perfect size lunch. I still have some leftover turkey/rice mixture which I will use tommorow to make another buritto. This way it is fresh baked. This rec is so versatile. You can adjust it according to what you have in fridge. It is quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Tasty and filling but bland. It could have been the brand of picante sauce I used. Next time, I'll know to add some spices, maybe some of my homemade taco seasoning and some fresh cilantro. I think this would be an excellent base for enchiladas, just adding a good enchilada sauce in the pan and over the top and sprinkle with monterey jack? I might do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States