Picante Chicken Rice Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was a great recipe. My husband went nuts. We also made our own tortillas for it as well (even better). Instead of chili powder I used a serrano pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I put more cheese on top, and I poured a bottle of salsa verde in the bottom. These were really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This recipe was awesome. My husband and I loved it. Definitely make gain. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weehawken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cedar Grove, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was very easy and tasty. I had in my fridge leftover turkey breast seasoned with black pepper, garlic salt and dill weed as well as cooked brown rice. So I decided to use them for this rec. I used regular onion, no garlic (had it on turkey). After I sauteed onions I added turkey breast, rice, can of pinto beans and fresh salsa (all I had),forgot olives and did not need to use chicken stock. When heated through I spooned about 1 cup of the mixture on tortillas, sprinkled with mozzarella, jalapenos for hubby and rolled up. I transfered stuffed tortillas to my pan and put swiss cheese on top. Baked for 15 min on 350F. It is just two of us and so we had just perfect size lunch. I still have some leftover turkey/rice mixture which I will use tommorow to make another buritto. This way it is fresh baked. This rec is so versatile. You can adjust it according to what you have in fridge. It is quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
very very good. i did change the recipe a bit. added some bell peppers and used a regular onion instead of a green onion. i also took the suggestion from another reviewer and added some drained black beans. the smell was enticing and the burritos were fabulous. i made some with a sauce and one pan without a sauce, both were good and the non sauce wasn't dry; just make sure you put the cheese on top of the burrito and you're good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I'm only giving this recipe 4 stars since I think there should be some sort of sauce poured over the burritos before baking. I did not do this when making my first batch and the cheese dried out. However, after pouring some taco sauce & sour cream over the top they were still delicious! I only used 1/2 of the chicken/rice mix and froze the other 1/2 to use another day. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I make these burritos a lot. The first time I used a pre cooked seasoned chicken from the grocery store. The burritos were good, but a little too salty. I boil the chicken (without seasoning) and cut it up for the mixture. These burritos are my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
i made this exactly as it says and its awesome!! they also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
My new chicken burrito recipe!! I had made yellow sauce and used it instead of the picante. And so I added one fresh, minced serrano but could have added more. I also added extra garlic, pinto beans and bell peppers. For the shredded chicken, I marinaded breasts in 1/4c soy sauce, 3 minced garlic cloves, 4t sugar, 1T sherry, 1t Hoisin. After marinading, tossed the liquid and baked the chicken for 40 minutes at 350. This made fantastic , moist chicken that I then shredded. Amazing and worth the effort. Makes a lot so I froze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Yeah this was a great recipe, taken practically word for word from Taste of Home - I have it in my 1997 Taste of Home yearbook. It calls for 1/3 c scallions instead of the 1/2 cup here. In any event - this is a great recipe. The prep time is a little long but I freeze leftovers individually and it's a treat to have them waiting. The amount of chicken can be changed - it really doesn't affect the flavor. I've added rinsed black beans to the mix as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States