Picante Chicken Rice Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I wanted to like these so much! They were just super heavy and tasted much like the spanish rice from a box with chicken thrown in. They weren't bad, I would make them again if the husband liked them, but even he thought they were a little too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cctaylor

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
When I initially read the ingredients, I thought, "OK, this sounds pretty good." But we loved these burritos! The flavor was really excellent! As suggested by other reviewers, I added some other salsa to the bottom of my pan before baking. I also added a bit more chili powder. I had some of the mixture left over and took it camping with us, where I filled the tortillas and warmed them up by using a little olive oil in a skillet and browning the burritos on both sides. They were yummy!! Next time I'm going to add a can or two of green chilies for even more "oomph." This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Very good basic recipe. I made it exactly as the ingredients are listed, but I didn't bake it. I knew I would have leftovers and didn't want soggy tortillas the next day, so I just made up the burritos that I needed and popped them in the microwave for 30 seconds each to warm the tortillas. Worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
v. good. served refried beans as a side and complimented well the dish. Jason liked it and the boys ate it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
SOOOO GOOD!!! I made my own salsa though but this woulda been good with the jarred stuff as well. That's the only change I made. My husband took extra leftovers to work and the guy he gave half to want's the recipe! Anyway thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very yummy! My only complaint was that the burritos were a little dry, as others said. We put salsa and sour cream, as well as some shredded lettuce on top and that helped with the dryness. In the future I may cover them with enchilada sauce before baking. We also didn't use the olives and used green chiles instead...and used salsa instead of picante sauce. A keeper =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYNICOLE213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Wow! Everyone LOVED these! I poached my chicken in chicken stock, oregano, salt and pepper, and diced the meat instead of shredding. I also put a small amount of enchilada sauce on top of the burritos before adding the cheese. I've never used jarred salsa in a sauce, but I was pleasantly surprised with the result. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momlovestocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I really liked this, even without the olives and half the cheese and chicken. But next time if I reduce the chicken I will also cut the rice in half. This was good in burritos and also by itself as a seasoned rice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
YUM! This recipe makes a ton so it would be great to serve for a party. I served mine with a side of cornbread pudding and chips with salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was great and pretty eay to fix. Actually had everything on hand. Used boneless chicken thighs, to get rid of them. Did cut the chili powder in half, we don't do well with really spicy food. But this one is a keeper and I will make this again, especially for family get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States