Picante Chicken Rice Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
yummy and as for all those that commented about needing a sauce over-maybe you should be making enchiladas instead!! Thats not how burritos are traditionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I wanted to like these so much! They were just super heavy and tasted much like the spanish rice from a box with chicken thrown in. They weren't bad, I would make them again if the husband liked them, but even he thought they were a little too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cctaylor

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
When I initially read the ingredients, I thought, "OK, this sounds pretty good." But we loved these burritos! The flavor was really excellent! As suggested by other reviewers, I added some other salsa to the bottom of my pan before baking. I also added a bit more chili powder. I had some of the mixture left over and took it camping with us, where I filled the tortillas and warmed them up by using a little olive oil in a skillet and browning the burritos on both sides. They were yummy!! Next time I'm going to add a can or two of green chilies for even more "oomph." This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Very good basic recipe. I made it exactly as the ingredients are listed, but I didn't bake it. I knew I would have leftovers and didn't want soggy tortillas the next day, so I just made up the burritos that I needed and popped them in the microwave for 30 seconds each to warm the tortillas. Worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
v. good. served refried beans as a side and complimented well the dish. Jason liked it and the boys ate it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
SOOOO GOOD!!! I made my own salsa though but this woulda been good with the jarred stuff as well. That's the only change I made. My husband took extra leftovers to work and the guy he gave half to want's the recipe! Anyway thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very yummy! My only complaint was that the burritos were a little dry, as others said. We put salsa and sour cream, as well as some shredded lettuce on top and that helped with the dryness. In the future I may cover them with enchilada sauce before baking. We also didn't use the olives and used green chiles instead...and used salsa instead of picante sauce. A keeper =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYNICOLE213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Wow! Everyone LOVED these! I poached my chicken in chicken stock, oregano, salt and pepper, and diced the meat instead of shredding. I also put a small amount of enchilada sauce on top of the burritos before adding the cheese. I've never used jarred salsa in a sauce, but I was pleasantly surprised with the result. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momlovestocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I really liked this, even without the olives and half the cheese and chicken. But next time if I reduce the chicken I will also cut the rice in half. This was good in burritos and also by itself as a seasoned rice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
YUM! This recipe makes a ton so it would be great to serve for a party. I served mine with a side of cornbread pudding and chips with salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States