Picante Chicken Rice Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
If you use the hot pace picante sauce these are awesome, I don't think they would have been that good without it!! I boiled two chicken breast seasoned with salt, pepper, chicken bouillon granules and garlic and onion powder and shredded it. I sauteed a small white onion and minced garlic then added the shredded chicken and the picante sauce. I used a cup of instant white rice once that was done "cooking" I added the rest of the picante sauce and added it to the chicken mixture. I only had four whole wheat flour tortillas. The chicken rice mixture is also good with tortilla chips. I would make these again!! Thanks, but the hot picante sauce is a must, atleast if you like things spicy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
A bit dry, but otherwise filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
A plump and hearty burrito. I wasn't real fond of these at first, but they seasoned up overnight and made a great grab 'n go lunch. Just zapped in micro and ate like a regular sandwich. Not messy at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
UPDATE: MY HUSBAND HAS BEEN CRAVING BURRITOS AND SINCE I'M ON A MISSION TO GIVE RECIPES I INITIALLY AWARDED A MEDIOCRE REVIEW A SECOND CHANCE, I DECIDED TO GIVE THESE ANOTHER WHIRL. BOY AM I GLAD I DID!!! THE KEY (AT LEAST FOR ME) WAS USING HOT PICANTE SAUCE AND MICROWAVING MY TORTILLAS UNTIL THEY WERE SOFT AND PLIABLE. NOT ONLY DID THIS ADD TREMENDOUS FLAVOR, IT KEPT MY BURRITOS MOIST DURING BAKING (WITHOUT SAUCE, BTW) AND MADE THEM MUCH EASIER TO WORK WITH (WHEN ROLLING)! THESE TWO CHANGES MADE A CONVERT OUT OF ME! :) These were alright. Although quite filling, these were BLAND. I even used Pace brand picante sauce, co-jack cheese (all I had) and a store-bought rotisserie chicken. The lack of sauce made these very dry (but sauce would make these enchiladas, not burritos...). I spread a bit of sauce on the bottom of my baking dish, but decided to forgo covering my burritos with it, thinking the cheese would keep them moist. Not so much. :( My only other changes were to omit the olives called for (my fiance and I both dislike them) and use Minute Rice, adding only 1/2 cup broth as per the package directions. I halved this for the two of us, but ended up filling only four tortillas (all I could fit in my 9 x 13-inch baking dish), saving the remaining filling for another time. CHEFCLAUDE's refried beans, tortilla chips, pico de gallo and mojitos rounded out our Mexican-themed meal. Thanks for sharing, IDIEHMARIE77. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very yummy but next time I will add picante sauce or taco sauce on top of the burritos after putting them in the 9x13 dish. Also wanted to add that I think this would be a great make ahead dish. Assemble the burritos then refrigerate. Take out of fridge 30 mins before cooking and top w/ picante sauce & cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I didn't have picante sauce but did use green salsa I had on hand. turned out great and my kids enjoyed it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica_Farr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olean, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This got better the longer the flavors had to mingle. The night I made this, I wasn't so impressed. When I made a burrito the next day it was much much better. This was quick though, and a great use of leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Delicious. I thought I had picante sauce, but turns out it was enchilada sauce, so I used that instead and it worked very well. Added a few more seasoning and spread some salsa verde on top of the burritos before topping with the cheese and baking. Very tasty and fillling. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
yummy and as for all those that commented about needing a sauce over-maybe you should be making enchiladas instead!! Thats not how burritos are traditionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States