Picante Chicken Rice Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Used medium picante sauce and left out the olives (not a fan). This was tremendous! I used some leftover BBQ chicken in the fridge, and it added a nice smokey flavor to the burritos. Great dish! We'll have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Very tasty burritos! They taste just like the ones served in restaurants down south! I added some cumin to the mix too. I made fresh pico de gallo to go with it and I wasn't disappointed, the flavors go well together. I wouldn't add a sauce like the other reviews suggest either, because then it is an enchilada, not a burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Midnight650

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Very good - I added fresh cilantro, crushed red peppers and used mexican rice instead of long grain rice because that is what I had on hand. I did put a little salsa on the bottom of the baking dish before adding the burritos so they wouldn't stick. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Don't crowd these in the pan. I also topped them with salsa before adding the cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I very rarely give 5 stars for anything be it food or otherwise. However I just finished one and it is the made at home burrito that I've been looking for. Added maybe a tablespoon of chipotle pepper as I was cooking the chicken which I don't believe did anything. However what I did add that added meat (pun intended) to the burrito was two cups of black beans as well as using brown rice rather than white rice. Ended up using 1/2 cup of the mixture per burrito which was more than enough. I used three chicken breasts, sliced thin, sauteed, and then put in food processor for 2 seconds to "shred" the chicken. Think anything more would be a puree of chicken. :-( After out of the oven, put salsa over it and a small amount of "healthy" sour cream. Life is good. Next thing to do, as others have commented, is to find a reasonable sauce recipe so I can have these wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Made a vegetarian version of this yesterday for Cinco de Mayo. I used 2 pkgs. of Quorn brand "chicken tenders" ( a vegetarian chicken substitute made mostly of mushrooms - though you'd never know. Can be found in the freezer section of health food stores or some supermarkets.) I also used fresh mushrooms, sauted with onion (not green onion as called for), red peppers, jalapeno cheddar, extra chili powder, added some cumin, cilantro, used more picante sauce than called for, and as per other reviews about dryness , used salsa verde to cover burritos. I used whole wheat tortillas. Next time I will use brown rice. Great base recipe, but needs to be "tweaked" a little. Served them with black bean and corn salad, with guacamole on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
We enjoyed this dish. My husband is big on Mexican Food and liked this very much. I did add some cumin to the chicken mixture with the chili powder. I was concerned about the tortillas drying out, but we actually liked the crunch of the tortillas. I topped the burritos with a bit of picante sauce, chopped avocado, sour cream and chopped cilantro before serving. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This burrito is AWESOME! I substituted the chili powder with pico de gallo. I sprinkled more than enough and gave it a good kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Awesome for our Cinco De Mayo Dinner! I boiled the chicken in broth,garlic and chili powder. Then drained the broth and used it to mix in rice and cook chicken. Added way more flavor!!! I added a little red taco sauce with Pace salsa to the chicken mixture and used yellow onion instead. I also layered cheese, green taco sauce and a little more cheese on the top. Add a Corona and lime...perfect = )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabianna84

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Delicious just as is. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States