Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Yum! Interesting blend of flavors. Left out the capers and added some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This was really great. Like others suggested, I used cumin and coriander and served it over white rice. My boyfriend already claimed the leftovers for his lunch tommorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
This is a good recipe. Consider subbing cumin & coriander for the cinnamon & clove. While cooking, put a small skillet over medium heat with about 1/4 cup of oil. Add a couple of tablespoons of clove, and let them fry and fry until they are so crisp they shatter. Strew these over the top of each serving. I was taught to serve this dish with diced well fried potatoes. The raisins are a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This was diffrent and very good I was a little afraid to use to many cloves so I only used 1/2 tsp and I should have used a whole tsp. Next time I will use more capers and olives a really good dish that we will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Good recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Great recipe. I added raisins, reduced the cinnamon and cloves to 1/2 tsp each and added 1 1/2 tsp cumin. My 7 yr-old especially loved it. Makes a lot and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
My family hated this dish, the cinnamon was overpowering, and we couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, California, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
I really liked this dish when I have tried it at restaurants. I think I will try the coriander and cumin or halve the cinnamon and cloves next time. It was a bit much on those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
A fun variation on chili! We served it over brown rice, but think we'd prefer white rice next time. Definitely made the house smell good, and wasn't as spicy as we thought (which is a good thing for us. :) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
I'm giving this a 5 because this is a great template. I guess I prefer Cuban or Mexican Picadillo. I followed directions exactly only finding that the clove spice was very overpowering even though we like clove. I was able to correct that by adding some sugar and cumin. You can subsitute the cinnamon and clove with coriander and cumin. Cubans also add raisins - which does add to the flavor! This dish is sometimes used as a filling for tacos and empanadas - it is a very flexible dish. You can make it into a stew by adding corn, etc. We enjoy this dish as much as we enjoy good old American chili. Tonite I served it with shredded cheddar cheese and sour cream on the side. Red wine or cold beer go great with it. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States