Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This was fantastic. I did omit the green peppers and served it over a package of yellow rice. My husband asks for this all the time, and it makes great leftovers if you make a big pot. It microwaves well if you want to take the leftovers to work for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Pretty delicious. I used orange peppers because that's what I had, and it still turned out well. Added nice colour too. My husband isn't a fan of olives and my son doesn't like capers much, but they both liked them in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Made this exactly as written, and served over brown rice. My family loved it. I was surprised that it didn't taste sour, or too cinnamony. The flavor was wonderful. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I made this recipe for my husband and he really enjoyed this dish. Served with brown basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Excellent taste. I didn't have olives or capers, so I omitted them and then I added the cumin and corriander (as recommnended by other reviews) and my whole family loved it, even my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
LOVED IT! I was so unsure what to expect with this and had never eaten anything remotely close before. I am a very picky eater and far from adventurous so for me to try this was a real stretch. I scaled this down to 2 servings and this turned out so wonderful. I loved every delicious bite! I did add some raisins in. I used white wine vinegar and canned diced tomatoes I had leftover in the fridge but in my haste I didn't read about adding them after the 10 min simmer, however it didn't seem to affect the end result. I served this with steamed basmati rice and it was so good, I even had seconds. The meat was tender and soft and this was so flavorful!!! Thanks JRICE, this is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
One of Patrick's Favs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I have made this recipe a lot and everyone loves it! I use the cumin and coriander. The capers seem to make it better and I also found cooking it for at least an hour is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Pretty good. I used red pepper flakes instead of hot sauce and went a little too far with it, lol. I served it over potatoes. Would be better in an empanada. Also, adding raisins, really makes this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Wow! I love it! I use whole cloves during the boil, then remove them. I also add about 2 Tbsp. of Goya tomato sauce with onion and garlic and an additional 1/2 tsp. of cinammon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States