Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
We loved it just as is. Thank you for sharing this recipe, we will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GailandDan
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Too many capers but otherwise a really nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I loved this recipe (with modifications), although I was looking for a more traditional Cuban style picadillo. My mods: pearl onions sauteed and slighty mashed before adding yellow onions, garlic and peppers (adds a nice texture and color complement). The cinnamon was interesting, but I'd use less next time. Less clove, along with the addition of cumin and adobe seasoning gave it a more Cuban taste. I always liked the green olives when I ate picadillo in Miami, so I added half more than the recipe called for. Lastly, I used more hot (habanero) sauce than the posted recipe, and I also added red pepper flakes, and used apple cider vinegar. Next time, I think I'll add some coriander (like some others have suggested), and also use the traditional Cuban raisins, which I think will work well with the cinnamon and apple cider vinegar. Thanks for posting this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I thought this recipe sounded good, I made this last week and it was a huge hit!! It was gone in one evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisitne_oliver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Easy to make. Turns out right every time. I simplify by cooking it all in one pot (not moving the ingredients in and out of the pan). I use only fresh ingredients (nothing canned). I also add either sliced mushrooms or cubed mango (but not both). Great over rice, but also makes a nice chunky spaghetti sauce if you add a few more tomatoes. Keeps well - makes good leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Believe it or not, I made this recipe using soy ground meat. Since there is no need to cook it, I added it towards the end, just enough to heat it up. Also, many picadillo recipes call for raisins, which I added, about a quarter cup. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
DELICIOUS.....This is a nice variation to the typical Cuabn ingredients, the cinnamon and cloves gave it a nice touch though. I did add a very special ingredient which I believe made thsi dish even BETTER. I added 1/2 tbs of cumin (love cumin... gotta have cumin)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I love picadillo because it is so versatile! This is a good picadillo, but I prefer Cuban style with golden raisins and no cinnamon. However, the cinnamon was a tasty variance. I serve picadillo many ways...over white rice, with potatoe (baked, hashed browns, roasted or mashed) and a dollop of sour cream or greek yogurt on side, sometimes with my eggs, sometimes i add black beans and make burritos or tacos with it, sometimes I use it as a filling for empanadas...my personal favorite but time consuming is to make rellanos de papas (fried potato balls) with it...yummmmm...i could go on and on with the different ways to use this stuff! I love it and it always is used up FAST by the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
My husband I loved this! We like spicy, so we added one chopped jalapeno. Also added about 1/4 cup of tomato sauce. Absolutely delicious. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Use 1/2 cinnamon and cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States