Picadillo de Platano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This was great! I used yellow with a lot of black on them plantains and fried them in a cast iron skillet with some oil instead of cooking them in water. I did everything else as is. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
We only had 2 plantains, and I used 1 lb. of ground beef. It was very tasty. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I brought my Tex-Mex flair in to brighten this dish up a bit. Sub jalapeños for hot sauce, put in extra veggies and herbs, and only used a quarter of the indicated amount of plantain. I used slightly more beef, and added fresh cilantro to sit on top after cooking. This will be perfect for soft tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Delicious!! I was so happy to see this here! I grew up with this dish but never learned how to make it. I followed it to the tee, just replaced worshtire sauce with SALSA LIZANO from Costa Rica. Nothing but raves when I make this!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
My family is from Costa Rica and this is great! I just closed my eyes and felt like I was home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
The first plantain recipe I've found that my wife will eat. I didn't have any cilantro on hand sadly, but I added some cumin and ginger to make up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This hit the spot!! I decided to double the recipe (all expcept the plantains) so I can use all the ground beef. It didn't seem like it was enough beef but then the title did say "Platano". Next time, I use more plantains. I can see why the previous poster added bell peppers and cumin. I think I will try that next time. Don't skimp on the cilantro, in fact, add a little more. Cilantro really brings out the flavors in this dish. I will certainly try this again, maybe serve it with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This is a great recipe, but I add a little cummin, oregano and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States