Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Trying to keep the cholesterol content down, I substituted ground chicken for the beef, and low fat chicken andouille for the chorizo. The result was a delicious picadillo that was quite a hit at home. Being so successful there, I made another batch to bring into the restaurant where I work, and the kitchen staff devoured it enthusiastically. This recipe will become a staple for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
We thought this was great! It almost had that "Cincinnati Chili" taste with being slightly sweet. My husband took the leftovers to work and even his coworkers liked it. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Wow this was a great recipe! My husband had the brilliant idea to make it with lamb (1 lb. locally raised ground lamb) and it was fantastic; the recipe has so many strong flavors and the lamb was the perfect balance to them. He used fresh tomatoes, left out the chorizo and the almonds, and used lemon for lime juice. Will make this for dinner guests as soon as I can get more local lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This was so good. I didn't have the chorizo sausage but except for that, I followed the recipe exactly and it was a big hit with my family. It only needed some salt. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I fixed this for dinner last night and prepared it as written. It was the BEST, The chorizo added something special. I served it over spagetti squash for something different. Big hit. My kids almost licked the dish. I forgot the lime and almonds, didn't miss em'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Suprisingly flavorful, sweet, spicy and complex. Goes excellent with rice, or better yet gorditas. One of only two recipes I have tried on here that is knock out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This was simply delicious! I served it over jasmine rice. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Absolutely awesome. I always made my own without a recipe. But this was great and the almonds and raisins added an extra zest. We will have this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe that I follow exactly and have made many times. It has great flavor and never disappoints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Always looking for something to do with ground beef that involves multiple veggies. This was really good; the combination of spices was very pleasant without adding tons of heat. I could not find chorizo, so I subbed Italian sausage, but I didn't think the Italian sausage blended in well with the other ingredients. Next time I'll skip the sausage altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States