Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Since my heritage is Puerto Rican, I grew up on Cuban cuisine as well as native ones. One of my favorites is picadillo. This is very close to the way my mother made the dish. However, I find it best to chop up the raisins, capers and olives (no nuts) and mix them in. The reason as mentioned in other reviews is that people don't like biting into an olive or caper or even a raisin. The flavor comes through. Also, if there is too much broth, I strain the meat mixture, put it aside, and boil down the broth separately. Then I add the meat back into the remaining broth. If you cook the meat in broth too long it loses flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Suprisingly flavorful, sweet, spicy and complex. Goes excellent with rice, or better yet gorditas. One of only two recipes I have tried on here that is knock out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Trying to keep the cholesterol content down, I substituted ground chicken for the beef, and low fat chicken andouille for the chorizo. The result was a delicious picadillo that was quite a hit at home. Being so successful there, I made another batch to bring into the restaurant where I work, and the kitchen staff devoured it enthusiastically. This recipe will become a staple for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This was very good. I cooked it with the lid off to try and get the broth to thicken. it didn't so I added 1 Tbs of cornstartch (mixed with cold water until smooth) so the sauce would be thicker. Served it with cornbread. It ws very good, but my husband and kids only thought it okay...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Both my husband and I agree that this tastes just like his Venezuelan mother's Picadillo that I wished I had gotten from her before she passed away. I followed the recipe, using vegetarian (soy) chorizo (that I buy at the grocery store in the refrigerated section) instead of the pork chorizo. Tastes the same, but with less fat and "msytery meat". Serve Picadillo over fluffy long grain white rice or thicken it with a beef gravy mix and bake with a topping of mashed potatoes and cheese to make a sort of Latin shepherd's pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Gomen Diaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Pretty good picadillo recipe. My Cuban father always made this growing up. I somehow didn't get the recipe. This is pretty close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
I made this today for lunch for my family. It was a hit! (and I had my doubts as some family members don't like raisins or olives or vinegar). But I had Picadillo growing up and remembered the green olives and raisins and loved it then. The Chorizo is a little weird because of what it is made out of but I just closed my eyes and made it as is. Thanks for the walk down "memory lane". We all really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I really enjoyed this dish. I like the contrast of the saltiness from the capers and olives with the sweetness of the raisins. Although next time I'd like to try it with dried currants instead. Served it over rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
After reading other's reviews, I halfed chili powder, cayenne, and paprika to make it less spicy. I also added Idaho potatoes, and omitted the olives. This dish was delicious! My husband is Cuban and grew up with Picadillo and he LOVED it!! I made homemade fried plantains and white rice on the side. Delicious!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegasescapee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I fixed this for dinner last night and prepared it as written. It was the BEST, The chorizo added something special. I served it over spagetti squash for something different. Big hit. My kids almost licked the dish. I forgot the lime and almonds, didn't miss em'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States