Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This was very good. I cooked it with the lid off to try and get the broth to thicken. it didn't so I added 1 Tbs of cornstartch (mixed with cold water until smooth) so the sauce would be thicker. Served it with cornbread. It ws very good, but my husband and kids only thought it okay...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
I made this today for lunch for my family. It was a hit! (and I had my doubts as some family members don't like raisins or olives or vinegar). But I had Picadillo growing up and remembered the green olives and raisins and loved it then. The Chorizo is a little weird because of what it is made out of but I just closed my eyes and made it as is. Thanks for the walk down "memory lane". We all really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I fixed this for dinner last night and prepared it as written. It was the BEST, The chorizo added something special. I served it over spagetti squash for something different. Big hit. My kids almost licked the dish. I forgot the lime and almonds, didn't miss em'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Suprisingly flavorful, sweet, spicy and complex. Goes excellent with rice, or better yet gorditas. One of only two recipes I have tried on here that is knock out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Trying to keep the cholesterol content down, I substituted ground chicken for the beef, and low fat chicken andouille for the chorizo. The result was a delicious picadillo that was quite a hit at home. Being so successful there, I made another batch to bring into the restaurant where I work, and the kitchen staff devoured it enthusiastically. This recipe will become a staple for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
We thought this was great! It almost had that "Cincinnati Chili" taste with being slightly sweet. My husband took the leftovers to work and even his coworkers liked it. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This was simply delicious! I served it over jasmine rice. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I felt inspired (and envious! :p) of my co-worker's tales of vacationing in Cuba for 3 weeks and made this dish this weekend. It tasted amazing and "homey" with the sausage, spices and the crunch of the almonds. Tasted great over rotini pasta the first day, but even better over hearty whole wheat noodles the next day for lunch! I give it only four stars because, while it was good, it was not outstanding. Will make again for a comforting meal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I omitted the raisins and capers because I can't stand either of them, and I wish I hadn't upped the amount of olives I threw in. We did, however, really enjoy it. There were so many flavors, and they all worked really well. Served it with plain white rice. Good stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
While this is good, it's not Cuban - traditional Cuban food does not have spicyness to it (so none of the peppers) and picadillo while traditionally having raisins and olives does not have almonds or sausage in it. It's a nice twist, but it's not exactly Cuban - maybe Cuban fusion. Good recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIMI1414

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States