Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
After reading other's reviews, I halfed chili powder, cayenne, and paprika to make it less spicy. I also added Idaho potatoes, and omitted the olives. This dish was delicious! My husband is Cuban and grew up with Picadillo and he LOVED it!! I made homemade fried plantains and white rice on the side. Delicious!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegasescapee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I made this recipe mostly for my husband. He is from Puerto Rico and I had heard him mention this dish. Reading the ingredients it did not appeal to me at all. Surprisingly though I really liked it. I made it exactly as written. Every bite was a surprise. Sometimes it was sweet, other times spicy, or crunchy. My husband preferred it without the slivered almonds but I liked the crunchiness it added. I might be a little more bold with the cayenne pepper next time. I thought the raisins would not be good but they really added to the dish. We served our picadillo next to a bed of rice with sweet plantains on the side. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I made this picadillo for thanksgiving dinner last year and everyone went crazy for it! I followed the recipe exactly they it was specified. This is defintaley the BEST picadillo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marigat
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Nice version of Picadillo. I enjoyed the inclusion of toasted almonds. We actually savored it more the next day as leftovers with pita flatbread. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
While this is good, it's not Cuban - traditional Cuban food does not have spicyness to it (so none of the peppers) and picadillo while traditionally having raisins and olives does not have almonds or sausage in it. It's a nice twist, but it's not exactly Cuban - maybe Cuban fusion. Good recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIMI1414

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I omitted the raisins and capers because I can't stand either of them, and I wish I hadn't upped the amount of olives I threw in. We did, however, really enjoy it. There were so many flavors, and they all worked really well. Served it with plain white rice. Good stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I felt inspired (and envious! :p) of my co-worker's tales of vacationing in Cuba for 3 weeks and made this dish this weekend. It tasted amazing and "homey" with the sausage, spices and the crunch of the almonds. Tasted great over rotini pasta the first day, but even better over hearty whole wheat noodles the next day for lunch! I give it only four stars because, while it was good, it was not outstanding. Will make again for a comforting meal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This was simply delicious! I served it over jasmine rice. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
We thought this was great! It almost had that "Cincinnati Chili" taste with being slightly sweet. My husband took the leftovers to work and even his coworkers liked it. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Trying to keep the cholesterol content down, I substituted ground chicken for the beef, and low fat chicken andouille for the chorizo. The result was a delicious picadillo that was quite a hit at home. Being so successful there, I made another batch to bring into the restaurant where I work, and the kitchen staff devoured it enthusiastically. This recipe will become a staple for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States