Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I really enjoyed this dish. I like the contrast of the saltiness from the capers and olives with the sweetness of the raisins. Although next time I'd like to try it with dried currants instead. Served it over rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I thought this was just okay, but my boyfriend loved it and he's from southern Florida, so he has much more discriminating taste in Cuban food than I do. I did have to double up on all the spices (again southern Florida boy) and I replaced the beef stock with white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
It looked like a lot of spices, but was wonderful!! I added some salt, omitted the lime. We had it with taco's and shredded cheese. The flavours are really great with taco's! I added raisins, chopped almonds, olives, capers and vinegar and let it simmer for a while, because I think in 5 minutes the flavours can not blend together. Maybe next time I will not add the capers, bc they don't go very well with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARODUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Good deep flavor. I could taste both the green olives and the raisin, which is why I like Picadillo. Only one complaint... Really lost its flavor over night. Leftovers were very bland and ended up tasting like just your run of the mill Sloppy Joes. With that said, I will make this again, just won't eat any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I made the recipe as written, except I forgot to add the almonds at the end, and I used turkey instead of beef. I thought it was great. I remember my mom making it when I was a kid and it was just as delicious as I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This was so good. I really followed the recipe to a tee (which is so rare) except I had to sub lemon for lime and green pepper for red, but other than that it was just a great ground beef dish. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I was cruising All Recipes for something different to do with hamburger. Wow! At first my family was skeptical as they looked at the contents of their bowl, one bite and we are all Picadillo lovers now. Even made it for company only to find out that one of the guests was sensitive to spicy foods. She ate it without any problems - or indigestion after wards. I don't always have all of the ingredients on hand, but it is a very forgiving recipe and always tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhorn, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I made this exactly according to the recipe, and it was incredible! I served it with canned black beans (mashed, with onions and garlic sauteed in olive oil) and fried plantains. My husband I both ate until we couldn't eat another bite. The spices in the picadillo, and the melding of flavors with the beans and plantains were just fantastic. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I made almost exactly. The only thing I didn't have was almonds. Seriously fantastic combination of flavors. I have been looking for years for a similar recipe to one I made in a cooking class that has disappeared. This is the closest I've come. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
YUM! My mouth just burst with all the complex flavors and textures. Plan on making next time I have company over. Many Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States