Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Both my husband and I agree that this tastes just like his Venezuelan mother's Picadillo that I wished I had gotten from her before she passed away. I followed the recipe, using vegetarian (soy) chorizo (that I buy at the grocery store in the refrigerated section) instead of the pork chorizo. Tastes the same, but with less fat and "msytery meat". Serve Picadillo over fluffy long grain white rice or thicken it with a beef gravy mix and bake with a topping of mashed potatoes and cheese to make a sort of Latin shepherd's pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Diaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is a great recipe. I usually make it with a little tomatoe paste and fresh tomatoes instead of canned. In many latin american countries, this is the recipe used for stuffing empanadas. You can buy the empanadas discs ready to stuff. Great for parties or as apetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ani

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I really enjoyed this dish. I like the contrast of the saltiness from the capers and olives with the sweetness of the raisins. Although next time I'd like to try it with dried currants instead. Served it over rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I thought this was just okay, but my boyfriend loved it and he's from southern Florida, so he has much more discriminating taste in Cuban food than I do. I did have to double up on all the spices (again southern Florida boy) and I replaced the beef stock with white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
It looked like a lot of spices, but was wonderful!! I added some salt, omitted the lime. We had it with taco's and shredded cheese. The flavours are really great with taco's! I added raisins, chopped almonds, olives, capers and vinegar and let it simmer for a while, because I think in 5 minutes the flavours can not blend together. Maybe next time I will not add the capers, bc they don't go very well with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARODUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Good deep flavor. I could taste both the green olives and the raisin, which is why I like Picadillo. Only one complaint... Really lost its flavor over night. Leftovers were very bland and ended up tasting like just your run of the mill Sloppy Joes. With that said, I will make this again, just won't eat any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I made the recipe as written, except I forgot to add the almonds at the end, and I used turkey instead of beef. I thought it was great. I remember my mom making it when I was a kid and it was just as delicious as I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This was so good. I really followed the recipe to a tee (which is so rare) except I had to sub lemon for lime and green pepper for red, but other than that it was just a great ground beef dish. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I was cruising All Recipes for something different to do with hamburger. Wow! At first my family was skeptical as they looked at the contents of their bowl, one bite and we are all Picadillo lovers now. Even made it for company only to find out that one of the guests was sensitive to spicy foods. She ate it without any problems - or indigestion after wards. I don't always have all of the ingredients on hand, but it is a very forgiving recipe and always tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhorn, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I made this exactly according to the recipe, and it was incredible! I served it with canned black beans (mashed, with onions and garlic sauteed in olive oil) and fried plantains. My husband I both ate until we couldn't eat another bite. The spices in the picadillo, and the melding of flavors with the beans and plantains were just fantastic. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States