Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Loved the combination of spices. It smelled GREAT. But we were disappointed in the taste. I blame this, however, on the chorizo that I used. I think the key here might be in using a really good sausage. Mine was rather bland. I will try it again using a different sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Made this last night, it was wonderful. It needs the lime juice, don't omit, could even increase a bit. Left out the raisins and almonds for last night's meal,,,got brave for leftovers today at lunch and added in,,,,again wonderful, wasn't at all like I thought it would be. They added just a hint of sweetness and texture. Don't be chicken like me,,,use the recipe as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mb65

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nortonville, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Embden, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I took a chance on this and I was very very pleased with this recipe. I bragged about it and even gave the home ec teacher a copy. This has a somewhat unusual combination of ingredients, and I was a bit a unsure at first, but we loved it and I will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was a fantastic recipe! I couldn't imagine all the different ingredients together in this recipe but they were perfect together. We are vegetarians so I left out the chorizo and substituted Morningstar crumbles for the hamburger and used veggie broth. We served the Picadillo over toasted naan and without the meat this was a very low fat, flavorful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edski8533

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I have always considered Picadillo to be a Cuban dish something like this one but without all the spices. I've seen the Cuban style made with beef, black beans and little green peas on top. This recipe is way too spicey, its not necessary. Picadillo is a simple dish that can be cooked in 20 minutes. Picadillo is nothing like sloppy joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is wonderful! But I don't like raisins in my food, except for maybe in my cereal! Leave the fruit where it belongs! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Sutliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is VERY tastey! I added potatoes cubed into small bite size pieces like my boyfriend likes it made. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindacoss12

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Must beg to disagree with the reviewer who says this isn't Cuban! Though I will concede that my Lenanese-Cuban side of the family might add almonds, cinnamon (& maybe the flatbread in the photo), the rest of the recipe is pretty true to most Cuban cooks' versions, including my mom's & mine. Frankly, those tweaks are great by me. I love fusions & I'm especially fond of middleastern food. "Picadillo" is just a humble, mountain folk "hashed/chopped meat" dish. I'm sure Mexico & others have versions using their own assortment of ingredients. This one's nice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Since my heritage is Puerto Rican, I grew up on Cuban cuisine as well as native ones. One of my favorites is picadillo. This is very close to the way my mother made the dish. However, I find it best to chop up the raisins, capers and olives (no nuts) and mix them in. The reason as mentioned in other reviews is that people don't like biting into an olive or caper or even a raisin. The flavor comes through. Also, if there is too much broth, I strain the meat mixture, put it aside, and boil down the broth separately. Then I add the meat back into the remaining broth. If you cook the meat in broth too long it loses flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Both my husband and I agree that this tastes just like his Venezuelan mother's Picadillo that I wished I had gotten from her before she passed away. I followed the recipe, using vegetarian (soy) chorizo (that I buy at the grocery store in the refrigerated section) instead of the pork chorizo. Tastes the same, but with less fat and "msytery meat". Serve Picadillo over fluffy long grain white rice or thicken it with a beef gravy mix and bake with a topping of mashed potatoes and cheese to make a sort of Latin shepherd's pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Gomen Diaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States