Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I tried this and my wife thought i was screwing up the recipe but I followed all the instructions but left out the vinegar,raisins,capers, and almonds. It still came out great. The yield for servings was off though. Next time I will add more chorizo and ground beef. Great dish..will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jay

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This dish was so good,the spices were just on time mixed with the sweetness of the raisens,there was nothing in this dish that over powered one another. served this in a pita pocket packed with cheese with a sid dish of black beans and rice. I highly reccommend this dish .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Great recipe. Multiple flavors in every bite. Served with Jasmine rice and black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I made this for dinner last night. Both my husband and I loved the blend of flavors. He requested I add it to my rotation of menus. I'm looking forward to having the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
A little spicy for the Wife, but she still loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
To quote Pirates of the Caribbean, kinda sorta! . . . "recipes are more guidelines as opposed to a set of rules!" My family just finished eating this tonight for supper (actually my 2 year old is still eating, but it is her fourth helping!) I mostly followed the recipe until the last couple directions. I went ahead and added all the ingredients and then simmered. I like my food to have a chance to 'flavor meld'. I tasted it after it had been simmering for a while and thats when I made it mine! So many people feel that they have to follow a recipe exactly . . . then the food is ready, you eat, and you go away thinking, "man I can't cook". But that is not the case. Use the recipe as a guideline and then keep adding things that taste good to you. Once you've got the 'flavor' that you like. Serve it up and enjoy it. Recipes are way overrated. Make it like it's written and if the flavor isn't right for you, change it up and make it right for you. All that to say, this recipe was ok as is, but then I made it my own and my family loved it. They gobbled it up and asked for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luke Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Who would have thought that beef, sausage, chili powder, cumin, cinnamon green olives, raisins and all of the other ingredients would have made such a delectable meal. We had left overs so the second night I served the meat portion over fresh, organic salad and topped with ranch dressing. It was awesome. It is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meredith, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Clarkesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Loved the combination of spices. It smelled GREAT. But we were disappointed in the taste. I blame this, however, on the chorizo that I used. I think the key here might be in using a really good sausage. Mine was rather bland. I will try it again using a different sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Made this last night, it was wonderful. It needs the lime juice, don't omit, could even increase a bit. Left out the raisins and almonds for last night's meal,,,got brave for leftovers today at lunch and added in,,,,again wonderful, wasn't at all like I thought it would be. They added just a hint of sweetness and texture. Don't be chicken like me,,,use the recipe as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mb65

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nortonville, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Embden, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States