Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Now this is picadillo! There are a few taquerias here in Central Texas that come close to this. Wrap some up in a flour tortillo for breakfast and you've gone to heaven. Don't tweak the recipe until you've tried it; the olives and raisins are what makes it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
this is a lot of work, but worth it. don't skip anything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was amazing. I was skeptical as I was throwing everything together but it turned out wonderful. My husband, who doesn't like olives, had a 2nd plate. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sanford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Excelllent flavors. We really enjoyed the dish. Thanks for the recipe. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GailandDan
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was a real winner in my house! I served it over tortilla bread. Stuck to the recipe except I did not add the cider vinegar. This will be made it my house often. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Excellent! Made it according to written recipe (although did it in two days, browned the meat last night and held that mixture out until I had sauteed the onions and peppers). It is colorful, flavorful, and delicious! Spices appear to be just perfect. I didn't think I would like the capers and olives but chopped them up and they added to the overall flavor just fine. Probably added the salt that is not in the recipe. I served the dish in a bowl with a warmed piece of flat bread on the side to "dip" in it. My husband loved the dish and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
My family loved this recipe, including my toddler. I made a big batch, so we ate it as leftovers several times. It was great served with simple cornbread, and in wraps. I think I'll drain it a little better next time as the chorizo is pretty greasy. I did leave out the olives and cumin because of our tastes. Overall the taste is amazing, with lots of variety of flavor in each bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by herbalpath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Pretty good. Made some changes as per our taste. Will make again. Left out the cinnamon, sugar and raisins and capers. Used a bit more olives and white vinegar. Would consider leaving out the almonds next time. Easy and something different to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
We eat little red meat, so I substituted ground turkey breast for the beef, and chicken stock for the beef stock. I did not add chorizo either due to the high fat content. But the spices and wonderful contrasting flavors made this a wonderful main course served over whole grain rice and accompanied by baked plantain slices. I would use the same recipe for shredded chicken or beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I tried this and my wife thought i was screwing up the recipe but I followed all the instructions but left out the vinegar,raisins,capers, and almonds. It still came out great. The yield for servings was off though. Next time I will add more chorizo and ground beef. Great dish..will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jay

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States