Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This is one of my new favorite meals! I served it over rice. I didn't have any green peppers but it still tasted amazing! My husband is a picky eater so I thought he might not like the idea of raisins and olives in this dish (he doesn't really like either one), but to my amazement he really liked this dish. I served fried plaintains on the side. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Ashland City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Nice recipe, but next time might leave out the sugar. Wasn't sure if I was supposed to drain the tomatoes, but I didn't. Took some of the broth out & added cornstarch to thicken a little, served on Jasmine rice with tossed salad, Tostones & Cuban bread. It was good, but not excellent...leaving out the sugar might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
First off, you don't need the olive oil as there is enough fat in Chorizo and ground beef. The cinnamon is a little overpowering so I would reduce that next time. This tastes like a fancy sloppy joe. I chopped up the raisins since I dont like raisins and followed someone else's suggestion to simmer the raisins and capers with the mixture so the flavors could meld more. I followed the recipe to the letter with the omission of the almonds and olive oil. Its a good hearty recipe. We served it over white rice. Will make again with less cinnamon and will try adding achiote to go with my puerto rican heritage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Snelling, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Amazing! Cut the hot spices in 1/2 but other than that followed the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Possibly one of the most amazing things that you will ever eat. It is spicy, sweet, complex, and not hard to prepare at all. When you add the dry spices, and they release their fragrance, your mouth instantly starts watering. You have to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Good flavor, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTROPHE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Love this recipe. I drain all the liquid and put this in empanadas. Little bites of heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShelleyDL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
wonderful flavors! halved the recipe and served it with rice and fried bananas on the side. easy recipe to follow. will do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Now, I must state that I know next to nothing about Puerto Rican food. There is one restaurant in San Rafael, Ca I go to and my fiancee can not stop ravign about the food there. His favorite dish is the picadillo. I did make a few modifications due to a shortage of ingredients. I omitted the bell pepper since when I got home I found out the one I had had spoiled. Also I didn't have any raisins on hand. NO onion since I hate them, I added 6 cloves of garlic instead. * I have since doubled the spices and it is very tasty. I used 1.5 cups fresh tomatoes because I had some from the garden that needed to be used. Chicken stock since I didn't have any beef. NO chorizo sausage at the store so I bought linguica and cut it into thin rounds Lastly no almonds since I am allergic to them. With all these modifications I made some fabulous puerto rican chili! Served with beans, this is amazing. I am adding this to my winter recipes. Generally cheap to make once you have the capers and olives on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
dh doesn't like olives or capers, yet I still put them in and he adored this. The only changes I made was omitting the chili powder and using ground turkey and soyrizo to cut down on fat. We ate it with middle eastern flat bread inspired by the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States